Review: Ctrl Alt Delete by Emma Gannon

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Blurb: Emma Gannon was born in 1989, the year the World Wide Web was conceived, so she’s literally grown up alongside the Internet. There’ve been late night chat room experiments, sexting from a Nokia and dubious webcam exchanges. And let’s not forget catfishing, MSN, digital friendships and #feminism. She was basically social networking way before it was a thing – and she’s even made a successful career from it.

Ctrl Alt Delete is Emma’s painfully funny and timely memoir, in which she aims to bring a little hope to anybody who has played out a significant part of their life online. Her confessions, revelations and honesty may even make you log off social media (at least for an hour).

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

I absolutely loved this book.it was fast, quite light, and really entertaining and gripping. Hearing about some of my childhood habits (like spending all evening on MSN talking to random strangers) brought back a lot of memories.

I got so into the book, I missed my bus stop by a long shot. The story will completely draw you in.

Emma tells some quite difficult and scary stuff with fantastic humour and wit. It was quite a challenge to put this down.

What I didn’t like:

Yes, it’s just me being pedantic so I can find something to fault, but I did find a couple spelling/grammar mishaps.

That was it though. That was really it.

Out of five:

Five. If you’re looking for a book about growing up in modern day times, this is your one.

One thought on “Review: Ctrl Alt Delete by Emma Gannon

Leave a comment and make me smile

