Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Challenge criteria: An autobiography

Blurb:

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious.

Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

This book is full of great mottos to live your life by (or at least attempt to live by), including her now infamous “good for her, not for me” quip. You could pick any of the phrases in your book and make that your raison d’etre, and you’d be doing quite well for yourself.

As expected from Amy, this book is also pretty funny. There are some poignant parts, such as the tale of the birth of her first son and what happened to her OB/GYN, but overall it raises more than a few giggles.

The input from Amy’s family and friends is a very cute touch, and it gives a real insight to what life is like living with and knowing, as well as being, Amy Poehler.

The story of the 2011 Emmys is possibly the best story of women supporting women I have ever heard. I read it, and went straight to You Tube to watch it.

What I didn’t like:

Because my Kindle version didn’t come with photo captions, I felt the pictures were a bit of a “who’s that” of Amy’s life. A little clarification would have really added to it all.

Out of five?:

Four. It’s a hilarious read, and any fans of Amy’s work in Parks and Rec or SNL will really love this. But some of the photos leave you guessing who’s in them.

5 thoughts on “Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

  1. I recently read this book, too and I enjoyed it! I found her writing style very all over the place, and I guess that could be because of her style of comedy haha

Leave a comment and make me smile

