Tag Thursday: The Autumn Book Tag

Did you miss the tags on here? Good, because thanks to popular demand, they’re going to make a return – but not as intensely as before.

I’ve decided that each month, I will post a tag on the third Thursday. It brings back the tags, which I really liked to do but felt they were taking up too much space from the original content, and it lets everyone know a little more about my reading habits and the like.

671046aedc06e908e5c0dbe65caf1a8c

Image via Pinterest

So, today’s one is the first in line, and has been borrowed from the fantastic Emma, who I am very very sure would be my real life best friend if we were to meet. My booktube, where I did some tags before, fell to the side, so I’m going to write up my answers instead.

What is your favourite thing about autumn?

The weather. Autumn is never too hot, nor too cold. It might be pouring rain for most of the week, but it’s the perfect temperature. Sweater weather returns.

September brings back school memories. Which book reminds you of your school days? What were your favourite and least favourite subjects?

Under the Hawthorn Tree by Marita Conlon McKenna will always remind me of school. My teacher in fourth class read it to us, and I can still clearly remember one of the lines as she read it out.

I was very much a typical journalist in school – I loved languages, but hated maths. My three language subjects (English, Irish and German) were my three best in my Leaving Cert, while Maths was the only exam I sat at Ordinary Level.

What cover reminds you of autumn?

I’ve only just finished it, but The Wonder by Emma Donoghue really struck me as being quite autumnal. Even the contents deal a lot with the harvest and food.

Image via Goodreads

Image via Goodreads

October brings Halloween. What is your favourite horror or Halloween book? What’s your fave horror/Halloween film?

I haven’t read a lot of horror books, I’ve been more into psychological thrillers. From what I’ve read of them, I really enjoyed Can Anyone Help Me by Sineád Moriarty. This book deals with Yvonne, a woman who joins a parenting forum on the internet and starts noticing one of the other members has disappeared. When a body is found matching the woman’s description, Yvonne has to convince the local sergeant to take her seriously.

My favourite Halloween film has to be Hocus Pocus. I watch it every single Halloween. Honorary mentions to The Addams Family and The Nightmare Before Christmas.

With November it’s time for bonfire night & firework displays. What’s the most exciting book you’ve read that really kept you gripped?

Recently, it would be Ctlr Alt Delete by Emma Gannon. It was almost like reading a chat with an old friend, and I couldn’t put it away.

What book is your favourite cosy comfort read?

I thin a cosy and comfort read will always be something you’ve read before. Something familiar. For me, that would probably be Where Rainbows End by Cecelia Ahern.

Curled up with a good book, what is your hot drink of choice?

I never used to drink coffee, but spending two years working as a barista changes things. My favourite would be a hazelnut latte, and with my parent’s coffee machine it’s so much easier to make one at home.

What plans are you looking forward to over the next few months?

I cannot wait to head back to Cardiff and see my friends again. I haven’t been to visit since I moved back home, and I’ve been planning a short trip ever since.

What Autumn book release are you most anticipating?

I met Holly Bourne at Dept Con 2, and she spoke about her new release. And A Happy New Year is a follow up to the Spinster Club trilogy, and takes a look at Amber, Evie and Lottie as they come home for Christmas from their first year at university.

What Autumn movie release are you most looking forward to?

Most of the film releases I’ve been looking forward to for this year are already out – but I still haven’t seen them. Maybe I just need to go by myself.

One thought on “Tag Thursday: The Autumn Book Tag

Leave a comment and make me smile

