Review: What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne

Challenge criteria: A book and its prequel.

Blurb:

HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:

1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender

2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)

3. Always try to keep it funny

4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…

Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

Image via Goodreads

What I liked:

Lottie was always my favourite member of the Spinster Club, as I felt she stood for a lot of the same values I did. With this book, I fell even further in love with her.

Her “call out sexism every time we see it” plan was amazing, and it even opened my eyes to some horrid things that happen in the world. It was really heart warming to see characters take such a stand for feminism.

This book was also a very realistic portrayal of sexism women face every day.

What I didn’t like:

Sometimes, Lottie did go a little too far in the name of feminism – such as the Pizza Express incident.

I also didn’t much like the relationship between Lottie and Will. I felt if Lottie had such a strong stand for feminism, she wouldn’t have been as enamoured by a man who wasn’t as into it.

Out of five?:

Four. This was such a great read, and definitely one that every young girl needs to read. Some parts, however, didn’t fit in very well and it did make a slightly uncomfortable read at times.

Check out my review of part one and part two.

2 thoughts on “Review: What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne

  1. I’ve seen this a few times at the local bookstore and I’ve been looking for something to convince me to actually buy it. And your review helped sway me a lot! The cover kind of reminds me of Rocky Horror Picture Show, though.

Leave a comment and make me smile

