Blog Tour: Nice Day for a White Wedding by A.L. Michael

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Disclaimer: I was sent this book as part of a tour run by Neverland Blog Tours. This has in no way affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of this review.

Blurb:

Sometimes, Happy Ever After is where the real trouble begins…

Chelsea Donnolly wasn’t supposed to amount to anything. But if there’s one thing the bad girl from the estate liked better than trouble, it was a challenge. So, to the amusement of her best friends Evie, Mollie and Ruby – and the disbelief of her teachers – this bad girl turned good.

These days, Chelsea is the kind of girl people are proud to know – and, after a surprise trip to Venice, she has a ring on her finger to prove it. But to get there, she’s had to learn to keep her deepest secrets from everyone – even her fiancé.

And when wedding preparations threaten to blow her cover, Chelsea can’t help but wonder: in her battle to the top, might she have left the best parts of herself behind?

Image via Neverland Blog Tours

Image via Neverland Blog Tours

What I liked: 

Chelsea was a completely relatable character. You could see instantly that she was a hard worker, and wholly family orientated. I loved her right from the first page. She was independent, and I connected with her straightaway.

Chelsea and Kit’s relationship wasn’t perfect, but it was real, and that was the best part of it. It was so refreshing to see a relationship where the two didn’t really like each other all the time.

I really loved how Ruby Tuesday, one of Chelsea’s best friends, is still a huge part of the story even though she has died. It’s a perfect example of how those who pass away never really leave us.

What I didn’t like:

I was a little confused by this book at the start. I couldn’t figure out who some of the characters were, and for a while I thought Jez, Jermaine and Jay were the same person. I think this may have been because I hadn’t read the first book in this series. I didn’t have the whole picture, and I think it would have been a totally different

Out of five?:

Three. It was a great story, but it did take me a while to get into the story as I didn’t feel like I knew the entire story. Perhaps if I’d read the first book beforehand I’d have settled in much quicker.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Nice Day for a White Wedding by A.L. Michael

  1. I’ve only discovered A. L. Michael in this last year- I am excited to add this to my to-read list! I do often start the beginning of her books slightly confused on characters, but thankfully not so much that I want to put the book down! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment and make me smile

