Physical book or e book? 

For quite a long time, I was a little off with e books. For me, they didn’t feel the same as holding a real paperback book in my hands, and it was as if some of the magic had been taken away.

My tablet came pre-loaded with Google Books, and I’d been on the Book Store to download a couple of my favourite free books. I hadn’t yet bought and paid for anything though.

Then, a two week work placement in London popped up. If I wanted to get some reading done, I would realistically need to boot up my tablet and download a few e books rather than take up packing space with the six books I intended to read. I downloaded the Kindle app, and bought some new e books on it and Google Books to keep me going.

Slowly, I started warming to the idea of an e book. I’ve become less of a traditionalist, and I’m now mature enough to know there’s pros and cons to both ways of reading your next book.

Paperback books

Pros

Let’s start with the most obvious – paperback books are beautiful. A full book shelf is what bookstagrammers dream of, and there’s not much more eye-catching than an organised and full bookshelf.

Cons

Whether it’s a doorstepper, a hardback, or just a regular sized copy, paper books can be quite heavy. If you’re anything like me, when jetting off there could be anything up to six books in your suitcase – and that’s just flying out. Those books can take up a lot of  space and weight allowance in a suitcase. You often only get to bring one physical book at a time, especially if it’s in your handbag.

If you’ve only brought one book with you, say on the bus or to a coffee shop, and you finish up, you enter this weird limbo where you want to read but you have no reading material.Bookshelf

E books

Pros

You can bring as many books as you want on just one device – my friend recently went on holiday and brought the entire I Heart series by Lindsey Kelk with her on her Kindle. Imagine the space she’d saved – and the extra clothes she could pack instead.

EBooks are generally cheaper too, with frequent deals of books for just 99p on the Kindle web store.

Cons

One of the biggest disadvantages to ebooks is that ereaders run on rechargable battery. If you’ve run out, and you’re nowhere near a power supply, you can be left stuck without.

9 thoughts on “Physical book or e book? 

  1. Of course, I love reading phisical books more then anything, especially if I have review copy or my own book, I love doodling, underlining, writing my thoughts right there on paper. It’s easier for me to review a book that way, and to analyse the story.
    I prefer paperbacks over hardbacks.
    However, I can’t deny that ereader saves so much space!! I try to be minimalist and I don’t need 400 books on my shelf, I want to have only my favorite editions (and festive reads with pretty covers bc I am shallow like that). So ereader has a huge advantage here bc I usually get rid of phisical books I didn’t enjoy as much.
    The huge Con is, other then the one you already said, that sometimes ebooks are more expensive then phisical copies.
    I like to read chick lit, especially british authors, and their books in US Kindle (I have that bc my country obligates to have that) are sooo expensive. For example Lindsey Kelk who you mentioned. It is cheaper for me to order phisical copy of her book then to buy myself ebook. And she’s not the only one. Jane Costello, Sophie Kinsella, basically my favorite authors are cheaper in phisical format. I would buy their in phisical format anyway, but I wanted to mention that.

  2. I was like you with eBooks, I was reluctant for a while. However, since I have had my Nook since February, I have fallen in love with the convenience. I love having two libraries at my fingertips.

  3. I’m just a bit of a book collector at this stage so I love having the full shelves and I’ve always something on the way from amazon but I couldn’t be without my kindle – actually have a fire and a paperwhite, plus the app on my phone – started off with a Kobo when my twins were babies and I wanted to read at night when I was up with them but I didn’t want to turn on the light! Haven’t looked back since, I love both and there are certain people I can’t read on Kindle (Stephen King still needs to be in a book, as does Donal Ryan) but I love both and hate the whole “save the culture” thing, it’s all books! It’s all words! x

    • That’s one advantage to the e reader alright – you can keep reading if there’s someone in the room with you and you don’t need to turn a light on and disturb them. Maybe I’m starting to warm to them!

  4. Ebooks all the way for me. I still have paperbacks and read them, but 80% of the time you will find me with a kindle in my hands.

    Easy enough to remember to charge it every couple of days along with a mobile phone, so rare it runs out of battery for me.

    And how do you only take 6 books on holiday with you? My next holiday I’ll potentially have a paperback a day with me plus a kindle…just for back up and because i do need to read the paperbacks eventually!

  5. I use the Kindle on holiday because it’s light, but was worried I could never remember anything I’d read on it, even if I knew it had been good. Then I read of some research (sorry can’t remember where that was either!) that suggests a link between better retention and the printed book – something to do with the way the eye scans the printed page. So now I read anything harder in paperback, and quick throwaway things on Kindle.

Leave a comment and make me smile

