Review: One by Sarah Crossan

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria. 

Disclaimer: I won this book in a competition run by Rick O Shea and Children’s Books Ireland. I was not asked to review this book as a term of this competition.

Blurb:

Grace and Tippi are conjoined twins, joined at the waist, defying the odds of survival for sixteen years. They share everything, and they are everything to each other. They would never imagine being apart. For them, that would be the real tragedy.

But something is happening to them. Something they hoped would never happen. And Grace doesn’t want to admit it. Not even to Tippi.

How long can they hide from the truth—how long before they must face the most impossible choice of their lives?

Image via Independent

What I liked:

This was the first free verse book I’ve read, and I really warmed to it quite quickly. I grew up reading and performing poetry, so this book was like coming home. It may be a little strange of a format for some readers, but once you’re in the story hooks you completely. The format also makes it a relatively quick read. 

This book won the Irish and British YA book awards, and even within the first five pages you can clearly see why. It’s filled with emotion – whether it’s despair at the twin’s parent’s redundancy, or when an ultimatum comes to the girls. The ending comes fast, hard, and ruthless – this was rhe first book this year to make me cry. This is one tale I won’t be in a hurry to forget.

I’ve always loved books about twins, but this is the first I’ve read about conjoined twins. It was such an eye opener to see how much being a conjoined twin really affected their everyday lives – having to wear headphones whole the other sister was in therapy, or how a common cold can really knock them out for a couple of days.

What I didn’t like:

The narration all comes from Grace, so we only really see what’s inside her head. While Grace is pretty much the key character, I would have loved to have seen a couple of chapters from Tippi’s point of view.

Out of five?:

Five. This book made me an emotional wreck, but it’s one of the best books I’ve read so far this year. Definitely deserving of the many accolades it has been given.

Leave a comment and make me smile

