Blog tour: The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club by Lynsey James

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this book for review from the publisher as part of a blog tour run by Neverland Blog Tours. This has in no way affected my thoughts on the book, nor the outcome of this review.

Image via Neverland Blog Tours

Image via Neverland Blog Tours

Blurb:

Emily Reed is having a bad day. Devastated at losing her hard-earned promotion to the ditz who’s sleeping with the boss, her mother drops a devastating bombshell—the dad she’s known and loved for 25 years isn’t her biological father.

Now Emily needs answers and a month in Luna Bay should give her the time she needs to find her father, and land the difficult client at the Sunflower Cottage B&B which should put her back in the running for her coveted promotion.

Setting up the Sunflower Cottage breakfast club should be a great way to meet the locals and maybe even find out who her father is. The only problem is that brooding and insanely gorgeous, Noah, is determined to make Emily’s stay perfectly uncomfortable.

Finding out the truth was never going to be simple, but she never thought her heart would get in the way…

Image via Neverland Blog Tours

Image via Neverland Blog Tours

What I liked:

Though this is the second of a trilogy, I never once felt lost in the story, as if I should probably have read the first book before this one. It would work just as well as a standalone as it would part of a series, and I think that’s really important for a novel series.

This is a fairly short book, clocking in at just over 200 pages. It’s a light, quick and easy read, and I had it more than half finished on a 45 minute flight.

It’s also got some great pop culture references – I spent hours after this book singing Let’s Get Ready to Rumble to myself, or anyone who’d listen.

What I didn’t like:

I didn’t much like Emily. She came across as very materialistic (think Carrie “I don’t do outside Manhattan” Bradshaw) with all her complaining the B&B didn’t offer a kale smoothie for breakfast, or wearing heels while traipsing off down country roads (rookie mistake). She was lamb dressed as mutton – I’ve never seen nor heard a 25 year old whose daily attire is tight buns and pant suits with shoulder pads. Are shoulder pads even a thing anymore?

I felt Emily and Noah really didn’t fit together. They honestly went from throwing murderous looks across tables to falling over each other within 20 pages and really, I thought that was a bit much. It doesn’t take that soon to chang your opinion of a person.

Noah’s rejection read like a Straight White Boy on Tinder – childish, and embarrassing. I’ve seen so many of them, I could do nothing but laugh and roll my eyes.

Out of five?:

Three. A great story that fell a little short with its bland characters.

Leave a comment and make me smile

