Review: Am I Normal Yet? By Holly Bourne

Challenge criteria: A book that intimidates you.

Blurb:

 All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

Image via Amazon

What I liked:
This book perfectly shows what life with a mental illness really is. It’s not all therapy sessions and “talking about your feelings”, it’s mainly living through those feelings. I have no personal experience of OCD (saying you like to have your house clean and tidy is NOT OCD), but this was a real eye opener. I’ve seen articles of what living with the disorder is like, but this somehow made it feel more real.

Am I Normal Yet covers growing up and being a teenager perfectly. Between friends taking an exit stage left when romance is on the cards, to your own romantic endeavours going down the toilet, this is youth at its finest.

Anyone who’s been through any mental health issue will recognise the episodes here, and most importantly will mirror Evie’s defiance of not telling her friends for fear they’ll look at her differently.

What I didn’t like:

I’m clutching at straws here, but the boys in this book were very unlikeable.

Yeah that’s the only bad point I can really give this.

Out of five?:

Five. Before I’d even bought the book I had heard so many positive reviews. I went in with quite high expectations, and they were more than matched. They were exceeded.

Check out my review of part two and part three.

2 thoughts on “Review: Am I Normal Yet? By Holly Bourne

  1. Arghhh, I’ve been wanting to read this book for ages so once I have enough money I’m definitely going to have to read it! It sounds so interesting, I absolutely love YA books at the moment

    A book I recommend if you haven’t read it already is All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven that explores mental illness, and Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard which I just posted a review of

    Brilliant review, by the way (I also really love the name of your blog haha) ♡

    pinklemonadeandpaperbacks.blogspot.com

    • Shannon I definitely recommend it! I’m off to to find the other two books in the trilogy, I loved this one so much.
      I’ve already read ATBP, I’ve got a review of it from the start of the year too. Haven’t read Beautiful Broken Things yet though so I will check out your post!
      Thank you so much for the lovely comment!

Leave a comment and make me smile

