Blog Tour: We’ll Always Have Paris by Sue Watson

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

(Disclaimer: I was sent this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of the review.)

Blurb:

When she was almost 17, Rosie Draper locked eyes with a charismatic student called Peter during their first week at art college, changing the course of her life forever. Now, on the cusp of 65 and recently widowed, Rosie is slowly coming to terms with a new future.

And after a chance encounter with Peter, forty-seven years later, they both begin to wonder ‘what if’ . . .

Image via Google Books

What I liked:

This is a light and quick read, perfect for lazing by the beach. Your senses are bombarded with scents of freshly cut flowers and of the flavoursome lunches Rosie and Peter enjoy together.

What I didn’t like:

I really didn’t warm to Peter at all. I felt he was reckless, selfish, and much like a mother I didn’t think him at all suitable for Rosie. He brought out quite a childish side to her, and it was difficult to see that in an otherwise very mature lady.

I wasn’t impressed by the behaviour of Rosie’s daughters either, especially Anna. I’m not a child of a broken home (be it divorce or bereavement) but I don’t see any instance where you would begrudge your parent finding new happiness with a new partner. For a grown woman, Anna acted like a spoiled child for the majority of the book.

Out of five: 

Three. It was a good read, but some of the character’s whinging all through the book did get to me at times.

Leave a comment and make me smile

