The Ultimate Book Tag

I’ve looked over my blog, and come to a conclusion. It won’t shock you very much.

Girl, you do a lot of tags.

So, this will be my last tag for quite a while on the blog. While I love doing them, and some of them have been really well received with some people even taking their own spin on it, it’s taken away from what I really came here to do – boom shake shake shake the room share my thoughts on some of the fantastic books I’ve recently read.

I promise to go back to the reviews, meaning the tags will be taking a little break. If I’m going out, I’m going out in style. 

I saw this post on Aussie blogger Eugenia’s blog and I had to take it for myself.

Strap in, here comes my swan song. And, as the title suggests, it’s a big one.

Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Alas, always. Planes? Fine. Trains? No bother. Buses? Yeah, I can do that. Cars? Messy.

Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

When I read it, I thought Cecelia Ahern’s Where Rainbows End was ground breaking. I’d never read a book that delivered its plot line in the form of letters, notes, texts and emails. I thought it was brilliant.

Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter always. Let us discuss why.

  • Harry Potter is about the importance of friendship, love, compassion, sacrifice, overcoming adversity, and tackling your demons. Twilight is about the importance of finding a boyfriend.
  • Harry Potter has a plethora of strong female characters – Hermione, Ginny, Luna, Lily, Molly, for instances. Twilight doesn’t even compare. Bella is a wet fish.
  • The writing in Harry Potter is better, it flows better and is much more engaging.
Shut up Ron. Image via Pinterest

Shut up Ron. Image via Pinterest

Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

I don’t. I just put my book in my handbag if I’m going anywhere, and my handbag contains everything you’d expect a handbag to have within. Lipsticks, keys, hand sanitiser, wallet and a plethora of pens.

Do you smell your books?

Yes. There isn’t a whole lot that smells better than a fresh, new book. Intoxicating.

Books with or without little illustrations?

I’m not really a fan of illustrations in adult reading – I associate it much more with children’s books. Illustrations at the beginning of a chapter, like number decoration, are fine by me though. I’m fussy, ok?

What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

I can’t really think of a moment that’s happened. Usually, if I love a book, the writing is one of my influences on my opinion.

Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

This isn’t as much funny as it is shameful. When I was 12 my family went to Australia on holiday. I bought a couple of books there (including Prisoner of Azkaban) but when I saw an official biography of the Olsen twins I lost it in the middle of a bookshop in Perth train station. The coolest.

It was around the time I was going through my Olsen obsession, and anything to do with the twosome saw me parting money.

Image via Goodreads

What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Probably The Great Gatsby, which is about 130 pages including story and admin pages.

What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Definitely Order of the Phoenix. That thing is massive.

Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Once upon a time, I saw myself as a novelist. Now, I’m focusing solely on journalistic writing, and reading books in any spare time and writing about them.

When did you get into reading?

I know I was young. I was maybe three or four, before I started primary school anyway. I used to read the children’s book in the local golf club (my Dad is a member, and I’d read it while I waited for him to come off the course). My strongest childhood memory is my Dad standing by my bed and reading The BFG with me. It’s such a vivid memory that I can even recall what pyjamas I wore (a Pocahontas nightdress).

In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

It was among them. I was always a languages girl, and English, Irish and German were my three best subjects in my Leaving Cert (FIVE BLOODY YEARS AGO). I got a B1 in English, and I was happy out because it was over the entry requirement to do the course I wanted in college.

What is your favourite classic book? 

Little Women by Louisa M Alcott. I reread it again this year, and it’s one of my favourite stories.

If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

Regift. Ok, I may not like it, but who’s to say one of my friends or followers won’t? Just, you know, don’t regift straight away.

What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

These are quite different series, but I digress.

If you haven’t read Gone by Michael Grant, get out from under that rock and get to your local bookshop. Then ask for all the series. Then come back to me so we can talk.

What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I tend to think of an idea for a blog post, schedule it with a publication date, and then leave it sitting there for weeks. It’s often happened that a post has published itself and I’ve been nowhere near finished it. That really has to stop soon.

What is your favourite word?

My favourite words are from the Irish language – saoirse, meaning freedom, or suaimhneas meaning peace.

Image via An Croí Ait

Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

A nerd. Definitely a nerd. Especially a book nerd.

Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Fairies. I grew up surrounded by fables and fairy tales, and vampires didn’t really feature in them a lot. There are also a lot of fairy stories in Irish mythology, so they’re a huge part of my heritage.

Shapeshifters or Angels? Why? 

Angels. I once even attepmted write a book about angels, but I couldn’t get it to go anywhere.

Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Werewolves. Two words: Remus Lupin.

Zombies or Vampires?

I don’t really have a preference, to be honest.

Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I’m not really pushed on either, but if I had to choose it would probably be forbidden love.

Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Action packed. I’m not a huge fan of straight, Mills and Boon style romance novels.

While this may be my last tag on the blog for a while, I will still be continuing them on my You Tube channel. Please come and subscribe to keep updated on my tagging adventures.

Come click in and say hello!

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Ultimate Book Tag | Much Ado About Books

  2. OH MY GOD, that Mary-Kate and Ashley book!!! Me and my sister had a massive obsession with the Olsens, probably because we’re identical twins too. (We also loved the Parent Trap. Anything with twins.) I had that book and I read it so much, it’s still in a box or on a shelf somewhere, I’m sure of it!

Leave a comment and make me smile

