Blog tour: Now and Then Friends by Kate Hewitt

This book did not fit any of my challenge criteria.

(Disclaimer: I was sent this book by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of the review.)

Blurb:

Childhood best friends Rachel Campbell and Claire West have not only grown up, but after 15 years, they’ve also grown apart.

After her father left, Rachel had to dedicate her life to managing her household: her two younger sisters, her disabled mother, and her three-year-old nephew. When Rachel’s not struggling to look after all of them, she makes her living cleaning the houses of wealthy families—including the Wests, where a surprise awaits.

A lifetime of drifting in other people’s currents has finally left Claire high and dry. First her parents, then the popular crowd in school, and finally her fiancé. Now she’s returned to Hartley-by-the-Sea to recover. But running into Rachel brings back memories of past mistakes, and Claire wonders if she now has the courage to make them right.

As their lives threaten to fall apart, both Claire and Rachel begin to realize what they need most is a friend. The kind of friend they once were to each other, and perhaps can be again.

What I liked:

This is a book that will keep you hooked right to the end. You start craving answers – what is Dan’s story, and why is he so standoff ish with Claire? Why did Claire and Rachel fall out in the first place?

I loved how Claire developed throughout the book, growing from a timid and meek woman who was at her parent’s constant beck and call, to someone who was more than capable of standing on her own feet and making a life for herself.

What I didn’t like:

Most of my issues with this book were to do with the language and editing. There was some clunky editing words not spaced out, punctuation missing, etc. As this was an advance copy, it can be argued they should be eliminated by the time it goes to sale.

There was some quite weird hyphenation, with some words that didn’t need hypens now separated, like Port-ugal or forgo-tten. It may have bee just the formatting but didn’t help with how the book flowed.

This book was set in the UK but written in American English, which I felt didn’t fit in with the setting of the story.

I didn’t like Rachel as a character. While she was very caring for her family, she was also incredibly overbearing, and I really sympathised with Lily’s fear she wouldn’t be allowed do whatever she wanted in uni.

Out of five?:

Three, unfortunately. I did enjoy the story, and I was kept hooked throughout, but the clumsy editing dampened my enjoyment slightly.

2 thoughts on “Blog tour: Now and Then Friends by Kate Hewitt

  1. Ah, sounds like a bit of a mixed bag this one. Sadness. 😦 It’s sometimes awkward reading ARCs with the weird formatting, right?!? I find that a lot of the books I get from Netgalley usually have insane formatting. But I’m like 99% sure that’s fixed in the final copy. XD But eh to not liking the character and having it written awkwardly anyway. 😦
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    • The formatting did dampen it a bit, but I did enjoy the story – even if I spent the whole time guessing how old one of the characters was cos I’d completely forgotten! Oops. Thanks so much for the comment!

Leave a comment and make me smile

