The book sacrifice tag

This tag taken from the fabulous Bookish Regards talks about something I can’t even bear to think about – destroying a book. However bad the story may be, no book should ever be abused. I mean my brother drew all over one of my school books once and I had to fake sickness to get out of working on that page the next day. (Spoiler: my teacher did not buy that excuse at all. Lying is bad, kids.)

For arguments sake though, these would definitely be on my list.

An over-hyped book

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies’ only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

The 50 Shades series by EL James

I haven’t actually read the entire series – I got to page 20 of the first book when I decided I had had enough. I haven’t even read the entire series, and you can be damn sure I’m not going to start any time soon. The writing was really poor and clunky, and can we please not forget how abusive the “relationship”/agreement/whatever was? My cousins loved it, discussing it with me at a friend’s going away party because “I mean, you love books!” This, though, really wasn’t winning me over.

A sequel

Situation: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason

The first book was great. The third book was pretty good (even if Helen Fielding did kill off one of the most beloved characters). The films (so far) are fantastic. But Bridget in book #2 is a nightmare.

I’m sure, maybe at the time it came out, this was a great story. And I know it’s intended to be satirical. But I just cannot get on board with Bridget and her constant moaning about her “fat thighs” and her “non existent love life”.

Her mother is absolutely gas though.

A classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

I’ve heard so many people raving on about it, but I couldn’t get on board with The Great Gatsby.

It may be a wonderful story, and a great look at the debauchery and frivolity of the 1920s in New York, but I couldn’t relate to this story at all.

Is it a memoir, written 60 years later? Is it an autobiography? Is it a love letter to Jay? Seriously what is it.

I felt the book dragged for miles, and despite it being a quite short read I just couldn’t finish it.

A least favourite book

Situation: Apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

I honestly had to think long and hard about this one. Is there any book I really hated so much I’d have willingly set it on fire?

Then I remembered that 50 Shades of Grey is STILL a thing and I basked in the warmth.

Yes I will be using the same answer twice. I’m not playing by Countdown rules.

15 thoughts on “The book sacrifice tag

  1. Da Vinci Code. The only book I’ve every thrown straight into the bin. And I only read 2.5 pages. It was enough. No redemption available thereon. No-one should be exposed to that, ever. There might be worse but I haven’t seen them.

  2. Fifty Shades is a pretty thick book and and practically a classic, in a completely twisted standard. Since it’s both thick and timeless, I see no reason not to use it for all of the above situations mentioned. You need a handy book that could withstand time and rain.

  3. Sorry but I don’t think you can condem a book fairly on only 2.5 or 20 pages. There are plenty of books out there that I have ended up loving but have had to push through the first couple of chapters to get into.

    Maybe I’m just feeling a bit sore because I enjoyed all the books you slated along with the Da Vinci Code!

    • I, like many others, just couldn’t keep with 50 Shades, the standard of writing in it is absolutely appalling and I’ve abandoned books at about 30 pages in for similar. Though, on the other hand, we all read the same book differently.

    • In most cases, I’d say you’re totally right, and there are a million ‘slow start’ books that are absolutely worth persevering through. But if someone comes up to you at a party, pulls a terrible chat-up line, followed by ‘go make me a sandwich, girl’ and then throws up on you you’ll probably walk away and not come back. But apparently lots of people enjoy the Da Vinci Code. I certainly wish I made as much money as he did. Would I write like that to get it? No way.

Leave a comment and make me smile

