Took the words out of my mouth

It saddens me that I need to write this. But given some revelations over the last few days, I wanted to make my stance clear.

You may recall I recently took part in a cover reveal for a crime fiction novel to be released soon. The story sounded incredible, and I thought it would be a fantastic read. I was sent the ARC last weekend, but as I’m currently catching up for two more pressing book tour dates, I put it on the back burner for a while.

On Sunday, author Ingrid Black made a revelation – the book in question was actually a heavily plagiarised piece of work. Ingrid has herself been the victim of plagiarism before, and spoke about it in the Irish Independent and in her novel The Real Book Thief. The book is free on Amazon, and definitely worth a look.

When word came out that this author wasn’t what she seemed, I immediately cut ties with the book. My cover reveal has been deleted, and I’ve informed the wonderful Jenny that I’ll no longer be taking part in the book tour when my turn comes in September. I’m not the only one to do this, and I can tell you that it’s more hassle than she needs.

I absolutely cannot condone plagiarism, whether it’s taking a couple of lines from someone else’s post and claiming them as your own, or publishing an entire book written by someone else and throwing your name on the cover. Hell, I was even protective of my work in school – I like to be proud of the effort and attention that’s gone into my own work, and perhaps it’s selfish but I like to be the one to reap the spoils.

If you read the cover reveal and sounded enticed by my description, I cannot apologise enough for misleading you. Had I known the true extent of this book, I can promise I would not have even considered revealing the cover. Taking my readers for a fool is the last thing I want to do, and I can only hope you’ll accept my apology and that I can win back your trust in the future.

I guess Whyte Lies always come back to hurt you in the end.

20 thoughts on “Took the words out of my mouth

  1. I am going to do the same. Going to delete my cover reveal and the blog post I had timed to go up next week. Still feel sick about it all. Not your fault though so please don’t beat yourself up about it

  2. I have also deleted my cover reveal and will not be posting the review on Thursday. It sickens me that so many people have been duped by what appeared to be a sweet genuine author. It has made me wary about any future requests I have. Kate herself approached me for this tour, I thought it strange that she was doing one with Jenny as well. xx

    • I think a couple of people have taken the same approach and won’t be associating with the book in future. It’s strange that there were two book tours running concurrently!

    • Oh I know, Jessica, it’s not my fault, nor Jenny from whom I received the book in the first place. It’s just awful that this has even happened.

  3. I understand how you are feeling entirely as I was supposed to be featuring the book tomorrow with a guest post, entirely in good faith. I’m totally saddened by this and obviously have deleted the scheduled post. Such a shame to sully what is one of the things I enjoy most – blogging.

  4. Oh man- what a terrible situation! But it’s not your fault at all so there’s no need to apologise. Shame on the author though. It’s hard to conceive of anyone in this day thinking that they could actually get away with plagiarism.

    http://www.rhymeandribbons.com

  5. Not your fault at all Aoife, so no need to apologise. Awful that there’s people out there doing stuff like this, why bother like? There’s no sense of accomplishment when you don’t do your own work, I don’t know how people can live like that personally.

    • It’s just baffling! I can’t even imagine how they would have written it, did they just have a copy of the book to one side as they typed? Unbelievable!

Leave a comment and make me smile

