Review: The One with the Engagement Party by Erin Lawless

Challenge criteria: A book guaranteed to bring you joy.

Disclaimer: I was sent this book by Netgally in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way affected my opinion of the book, nor the outcome of this review.

Blurb: Nora Dervan is getting married… but her four bridesmaids are more full of secrets than champagne.

Bea has barely gotten past the fact that her two best friends are seeing each other, and now they’re engaged, and Cleo is rather distracted by the hot new colleague she absolutely, definitely must not sleep with.

Daisy is dreading the singles’ table, whilst Sarah’s own marriage hasn’t turned out to be all she hoped it would be…

image

What I liked:

I absolutely loved that at the very start of some chapters, real life brides and bridesmaids chime in with their experiences. Nothing better for a reader than to see another reader’s words on the page.

This novella (which weighs in at a quaint 78 pages) is the perfect introduction to the characters we meet on the journey from Nora and Harry’s engagement, to their wedding (features in another title).

When I say I couldn’t put this book down, I mean I honestly couldn’t. I stayed up until 3am finishing it off.

What I didn’t like:

With such a wide scope of characters, it was sometimes a little difficult to tell for certain who was the speaker at any time.

Out of five:

Four. A fantastic introduction to the excitement of the wedding planning period, and if that isn’t enough to bring you back for more the cliffhanger definitely will.

Leave a comment and make me smile

