24 books that have stayed with me

Today marks 24 years of my existence, and probably as long of my love of books. I’ve read hundreds of books across my life, from reading with my parents, learning to read in school, to setting up my own book blog and speaking openly about some of my favourite titles.

While I have tonnes of favourite books for a plethora of different reasons, there are some that have stuck with me throughout my life. Isn’t it really coincidental that it’s the same amount as the number of years I’m turning?

In no particular order, these are 24 books I will remember for a long, long time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

11 thoughts on “24 books that have stayed with me

  1. Snap! My b-day too yesterday 🙂 ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ blew me over with the level of textual dexterity crammed into a book marketed at a YA audience, meaning 99% of its readers would never ‘get’ it. But it works. They love it more than others without even knowing why. Changed my opinion on the value of writerly artifice and metatextuality.

  2. I haven’t read the book, but the film of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas had me in tears. I should really pick up the book too.

    The Book Thief is one of my favourites too. Such a wonderful book (and film).

    I had Richard Scarry’s Storybook Dictionary too… In fact, I think I’ve still got it somewhere 🙂

    Can’t beat Roald Dahl… I loved all his books as a kid and they stand the test of time too.

    I keep meaning to read Anne Frank… Such a brave girl.

    Finally, can I admit that I’ve never read the Harry Potter books?! I’ve seen a couple of the films though.

    • The Book Thief is my favourite! I had high hopes for the film and I wasn’t disappointed! I really recommend the Boy in the Striped Pyjamas book too!

Leave a comment and make me smile

