The 90s Tag

Is this another tag? Of course it is. This one came from Jess, and it’s perfect for any 90s babies.

Favourite Disney Film?

Beauty and the Beast. Hands down. I never really came to appreciate Belle as the princess most like me until I was in my 20s, but even when I was young I knew there had to be something good about a girl who could appreciate a good book. Mamma didn’t raise no fool. 

Favourite Music Artist?

I was Boyzone’s biggest fan, and their cassette lived in my cassette player. I also loved the Spice Girls, and would play Spice Girls with my cousins at Christmas (I was Sporty Spice.)

Favourite Sweets?

Cola bottles. They’re still pretty high up on the list, to be honest.

Favourite Game? (Board game / school game)

I absolutely loved Dream Phone. I’d like to think the game is still in my house somewhere, because I’d love to play it now. I would use the phone even outside of the game to see what boys from it were compatible with me. (Spoiler: not many.)

Image via Tumblr

Favourite McDonalds ‘Happy Meal’ Toy?

I honestly don’t even remember any Happy Meal toys. I’m pretty sure I got a small Barbie figurine once?

Favourite Book?

I loved the Babysitter’s Little Sister books, and after school each Wednesday my Dad would bring me to the library to get a new one to speed through. I think I had them all finished within a couple of months.

Favourite Clothing Store?

I don’t think I had one. My Mam bought all my clothes for me, as I spent most of the 90s under the age of seven.

Favourite TV Show?

I absolutely adored the Morbegs. I loved Molly and Rossa, some of the cartoon inserts (like Topsy and Tim) were my jam. And as for the humans? One of them was from Waterford, and another grew up to be Tommy Tiernan. So, you know, what’s not to love?

Still have so many questions unanswered though. Like, did they ever actually save the Growing Tree?

What Show Would You Watch After School?

After school my brother and I went to our Nan’s while we waited for our Dad to finish school. The Den (with Ray D’Arcy or Damian McCaul) was always a hit. There was some of the ITV shows as well we used to watch, like Mopatop’s Shop (what in the name of holy was he?) and Hilltop Hospital.

What Was Your Favourite 90s Game Show?

I have vivid memories of a show called Man O Man, which I watched with my aunt as she got ready to go out on Saturday nights. In this show, if a girl wasn’t impressed with a guy she would push him in a pool.

This show needs a come back like you wouldn’t believe.

Did You Own A Virtual Pet? (Cyberpet, Tamagotchi etc)

I had a Tamagotchi, which I bought in Killarney on a family holiday once. Somehow, I didn’t kill it instantly. Maternal instinct was strong for a six year old.

Favourite Video Game and System To Play On?

Crash Bandicoot, Mary Kate and Ashley Get a Clue (owned by my cousin, but still) and Pokemon. My started was Squirtle by the way.

Weirdest Fashion Trend?

Platform runners. How the hell were you actually meant to run in those?

Favourite Toy?

Barbie. By the time I dumped my collection on to my cousin, I had amassed a grand total of 33.

Favourite Nickelodeon Show?

Oh, Aoife and Nickelodoen did not get on well in the 90s.

My parents didn’t have Sky when I was growing up, we had a free to air black box type thing. Every day, without fail, Nickelodoen would cut out at mid day and be replaced with Eurosport.

Kids these days don’t know how good they have it with their 24 hour Spongebob.

8 thoughts on “The 90s Tag

  1. Your blog deffo does cool tags, this is another one I’d like to join in with at some point! I was a 90s kid too, great post. I remember watching Mopatop Shop as well. x

    • I loved Mopatop! Can’t remember all his friend’s names though. Oops!

      I always feel like I’m doing far too many tags. If you’d like to do one feel free, let me know when it’s done. I’d love to see!

  2. As a fellow nineties baby this was a cool tag which I enjoyed! I was born at the late end of the 90s but I still remember having/using most of the things you mentioned ahaha

  3. I was always Sporty Spice too!! And I just pre-ordered the 25th Anniversary Edition of Beauty and the Beast, even though I have the Diamond Edition.

    I might just do this tag.

  4. Pingback: The 90s Tag | The Ciara Chronicles

  5. Pingback: The Disney Princess Tag | The Ciara Chronicles

  6. Pingback: The 90s Tag | The Ciara Chronicles

Leave a comment and make me smile

