Book competition haul

Over the past few weeks, I’ve gone from never winning anything to claiming two book prizes in the space of five days. I’d like to say a huge thanks to Rick O Shea and to Becca’s Books for the wonderful bounty.

My TBR shelf is now filled to the brim. Time to take a look at what came my way.

Rick O Shea’s birthday bonanza
This may not be the competition’s actual name, but I think it fits on wonderfully so I’m going to go with that one.

Rick had two book collections on offer, an adult collection and a children’s collection, given in tandem with Children’s Book Ireland. All the books in each collection were on the shortlist for Ireland’s Best Book in their respective categories.

Being the huge YA nerd I am, I opted for the children’s selection. It was filled with not just books for very young readers, but also a number of young adult and teenage titles.

The books took a whole week to arrive, and I, in my childless state, imagined it to be akin to labour. I just wanted the waiting to be over and to hold them in my arms.

Finally, though, arrive they did, following a mini road trip across west Waterford.

image

Young readers
The Day The Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywelt
Gulliver by Jonathan Swift
Ná Gabh ar Scoil (translation: Don’t Take It To School) by Máire Zepf
Irelandopedia by Fatti and John Burke
Imaginary Fred by Eoin Colfer

Teen readers
Asking for It by Louise O’Neill
One by Sarah Crossan
The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne
The Wordsmith by Patricia Forde

One claimed the top spot, and I’ve heard so many good things about this book. I can’t wait to get into all of them.

Becca’s Books hits 5k
Book reviewer and author Rebecca Pugh celebrated hitting 5,000 Twitter followers with a giveaway recently. Entrants were given five choices of two books bundled together, and all you had to do was pick the bundle you wanted.

The one I wanted was a perfect fit – I had already read one of the other books in another perfect bundle, and the others weren’t particularly my cuppa.

The books were sent out by The Book Depository, meaning not only did I get the book, but also the cutest bookmarks to go with them.

Snapchat-2448911242926770679IMG_20160526_112143

They’re both chick lit books, which I’m really looking forward to getting back into. I’ve been reading a lot of heavy books recently, so I think it’s time for a break to return to a bit of light heartedness. I haven’t read anything by either of these two authors before, but I’m really excited to start them as I’ve seen great reviews from both.

4 thoughts on “Book competition haul

Leave a comment and make me smile

