#fakereadergirls: who you be is?

Some girls grew up living for Saturday so they could head for town and spend hours at the MAC counter fawning over their latest eyeshadow. Me, I lived for Saturday mornings in Easons, perched in front of the YA book shelves, breathing it in.

Neither of us were doing it wrong. We were simply indulging in our passions.

I’ve been reading since I was three. It’s one of the biggest things in my life, my biggest passion, and connected to some of my most powerful and cherished memories.

I’ve been wearing make up since I was maybe 16. I’m still not perfect at it, but I give it a try for the big events, and I really admire women who can, and have, made a career from their passion. It’s certainly something I hope for one day.

Then, this came along.

image

The above image came from a Book Tube video discussing how a woman who wears make up, sits in front of a brightly lit room and records her thoughts and feelings on a book she just finished (and probably loved), she can’t be a “real reader”. That book tubers, book readers, or book fans shouldn’t have gone to Chicago’s BookCon and BEA to meet “the same eight authors they talk about all the time.”

To suggest we, the book blogging and book vlogging community, don’t read every book we feature, is insane.

To suggest we cannot read because we also want to wear make up, is degrading.

To say we shouldn’t go to book cons, speak to authors we love and obsess over their books together with fellow readers? Now you’re just taking the fun away from it all.

I believe I can read equally well when I’m wearing make up, as I can when I’m not. The only mandatory facial adjustment I make is wearing glasses.

Steve, we will continue to read whatever way we want, be it bare faced or wearing the whole stand on our visage. And if our mascara should run while we do, so bloody be it.

What are your thoughts? Do you agree? Let me know in the comments.

15 thoughts on “#fakereadergirls: who you be is?

  1. That’s a horrible thing to say.

    I don’t understand people who put others down for wearing make-up, and of course you’d put some on if you were making a YouTube video and enjoyed it. It doesn’t make sense to equate being fashionable with being vapid – knowing the right combinations of clothes to wear and chemicals to put on your face would take intelligence and skill.

    This whole thing stinks of the reactionary misogyny that’s recently gained attention in gamer circles and other online spaces. I’ve seen some of this in the woeful Sad Puppy nonsense afflicting the Hugo Awards, but beyond that I’m going hope that it cannot thrive in the note sensible world of book fans.

    • I’m very sure this is the opinion of the minority, and as the reactions have shown over the last few days, the book community online is a lot stronger than this.

  2. This was very well written. I really love how the book community has come together, strong and stood our ground. I’ve never felt like I belonged in the book community more until now. “Never can, never will, can’t hold us down.”

    • Thanks Ashley! I tried to be really objective and not attacking, but still get it across. I know, I feel like this is the most tight knit I’ve seen the community together in a long time.

  3. The comment genuinely baffles me. Why would wearing make up ever have any impact on my reading ability? You know, I wear a full-face of make-up to university every day, and then I come home and “hunker down with a book”, usually with my full-face of make-up still on because I’m lazy and tired and never bother to take it off until right before bed. It hasn’t had any negative impact on my ability to read.
    Also, the snide comment about “well-lit, well-filmed videos” is nonsensical. If someone is making a video and has the means to make it well-lit and well-filmed, why wouldn’t they? Why wouldn’t they make this video to the best of their ability? Good lighting tends to help with lots of things, including recording videos *and* reading books.
    It just seems, at it’s core, to be a stab at people for enjoying typically feminine things. Choosing to wear or not to wear make-up has no effect on a person’s ability to read, enjoy and/or review books. If you’re struggling to see “make up” and “reading” in the same image, that’s only your issue.

  4. What a brilliant blog post. How utterly ridiculous to say that women can’t read and yet care about their appearance at the same time! I wasn’t aware of any requiste to look like crap when you do something intellectually stimulating!

Leave a comment and make me smile

