The Pokemon Book Tag

Michelle from the wonderful The Writing Hufflepuff  has so many wonderful tags up on her blog it’s hard to pick one to get doing. As this year is the 20th anniversary of the release of the very first Pokemon game, this tag seemed like a good one to start off with. I loved Pokemon as a young girl, my brother and I would come home from school every day and watch the show on TV, then really piss each other off by deleting each other’s saved game on our copy of Leaf Green.

Your starter Pokémon – The book with which you started your journey as a reader 

I’ve been reading since I was very small; I started out when I was about three or four. I don’t remember my first ever book, but I do remember a book called Can You Moo like a Cow?  that was always lying about in the golf club where my Dad was a member. One of the ladies there would read it to me while I waited for my Dad to come in from the green. For some reason, that lady was not my mother. Standard. . .

Gotta catch ’em all! – Five books you really need to ‘catch’ right now

 

I’ve got my eye out for Ruth Gilligan’s latest, coming in summer. I also want to buy the adult cover version of Louise O Neill’s Asking for It, Amy Pohler’s Yes Please, Mindy Kahling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and Tina Fey’s Bossypants. It seems 2016 will be the year I tackle the celebrity autobiography.

A legendary Pokémon appeared! – A special edition/signed copy you own

Snapchat-2284531048323212488 (1)

I’ve got signed copies of Becoming Scarlett by Ciara Geraghty and Julia Forster’s What A Way To Go

Magikarp has evolved in Gyarados! – A book that started out weak but turned out to be really good

Image via Goodreads

I know for a fact saying this means I’ve written my own death warrant, but I really struggled with All The Light We Cannot See  when I started it. But I persevered with it, and by the end I was completely in love.

Jigglypuff uses Sing! – A book that made you fall asleep

I don’t honestly recall a book being so boring I fell asleep halfway through. Usually, if I start feeling sleepy in the middle of reading I’ll put the book away and turn in for the night.

Skitty uses Attract! – A book you recently fell in love with

Image via Amazon

I heard such good things about The Art of Being Normal. I picked it up on a trip to London recently and sped through it in two days. I was hooked.

The Elite Four – Your top four favourite books 

Roald Dahl’s Matilda, Candy by Kevin Brooks, Good Girls Don’t by Claire Hennessy and Markus Zusack’s The Book Thief.

Your Pokédex – A photo of the books you’ve ‘caught’

My shelf in Cardiff, and the one in my bedroom growing up. I haven’t even read the majority of them yet, but here I am still buying books.

Masterball – A book you need a Masterball for to ‘catch’ it – a.k.a. a lot of money

You know what? I don’t honestly think there is. Apart from an early edition of Little Women, which is one of my favourite classics.

 

4 thoughts on “The Pokemon Book Tag

  1. Aww thank you for doing my tag! 🙂 I loved reading your answers (also how evil that you and your brother would delete each other’s save file haha! I would murder my brother if he did that haha) I really need to get my hands on All The Lights We Cannot See; I’ve heard a lot of good things about it!

    • Yeah we were always very kind to each other, my brother and I! As you see from my answers, it’s a great book. I much rathered the second half though.

  2. I’ve been admiring your blog from afar and then I saw this Pokémon tag and was thinking ‘yessssss!’. I’ve been meaning to read the Art of Being Normal for ages, and I totally agree with you regarding All the Lights We Cannot See! It took quite a while for me to get into it, especially because of the running parallel but once I got into it I couldn’t put it down!

Leave a comment and make me smile

