The Totally Should Have Tag

Once again, the tag reigns supreme. I found this on Rayna’s blog, and I had to weigh in my thoughts on it as well. Naturally.

1. Totally should’ve gotten a sequel
I was dying for another book after Candy by Kevin Brooks. It’s a thrilling, gripping story, and I’ve always wondered what happened to Candy in her life after Iggy. If Kevin won’t write it, I’ll do it myself.

2. Totally should’ve had a spin off series

Jacqueline Wilson gave Tracey Beaker her own second book, a TV show and countless other media appearances. But I’d love to find out more about Ruby and Garnet from Double Act.  Did Garnet settle into her new school ok without Ruby there with her? When did Ruby’s hair grow back or did she live the rest of her life with a buzz cut (not even a pixie cut).

Jacqueline, I need answers.

3. An author who totally should write more books

Ok I know Amy Huberman is very busy these days being a mother/cobbler/all round stellar woman, but she needs to get pen to paper again soon because I Wished For You is probably one of the funniest books I’ve read in a very long time.

Image via Goodreads

4. A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else

I’ve been wracking my brains trying to think of a single couple I didn’t really like. I can’t. The only one is Caitlin and Lucas in Kevin Brooks’ Lucas, and that was never going to happen.

5. Totally should’ve ended differently

Again, Lucas. The ending completely ruined me, and while it was a bit of realism I wish it had a happier tone.

6. Totally should’ve had a movie franchise

The All American Girl series by Meg Cabot. Fun fact: when I was younger and had read the first book for the first time, I imagined up a movie script with Jonathon “the kid from Stuart Little” as David and yours truly as Sam. I think Hilary Duff and Dakota Fanning played the other two sisters.

7. Totally should’ve had a TV show

Harry Potter should have been a series rather than a film franchise. I said it.

Capture

https://www.redditstatic.com/comment-embed.js

8. Totally should’ve had only one point of view

While it’s a beautiful story, The Last Letter to Your Lover by JoJo Moyes concentrated on one character for so long, it almost seemed redundant to have two.

9. Totally should have a cover change

Us by David Nichols. I thought they could have done a lot more with it than just putting the words on the front, considering the nature of the story.

10. Totally should’ve kept the original covers

There are tonnes of books that should fit into this category, but The Book Thief’s Australian cover is breathtaking. It should have been rolled out across the world, and the US cover should not have been a thing at all.

11. Totally should’ve stopped at book one

I do love Me Before You, but After You wasn’t as impressive as the first offering. While I did like it, I didn’t feel like it added anything to the story. It would have made a great stand alone book, but wasn’t as intriguing as book #1.

2 thoughts on “The Totally Should Have Tag

  1. I think Harry Potter as a TV show would have been so cool! They could have done so much more and incorporated so much more from the books into the series.
    Thanks for participating!

Leave a comment and make me smile

