The Pretty Purple Polka Dots Book Club: More books I loved as a child

I’ve picked up my reading a lot over the last two months, but if I’d been doing this 15 years ago, I’d have far more books read by now. I blame social media for trying to take up all my time and drag me away from reading.

When I was younger I would speed through books, and there were lots of authors and series that caught my eye. I’ve spoken about some already, but there were still some missing from that list that I knew I wanted to add in. It’s been a while since an instalment of the PPPDBC, despite having done a lot of book reviews and other book related posts over the past while. I’ve spent a lot of time on books I’m reading at the moment, but what about the ones I’ve read in the past?

Babysitter’s Club by Ann M Martin

Image via Amy McNulty

This book series made me want not only a group of best friends with whom I could set up a babysitting business, but also a phone line in my room. Claudia Kishi the lucky wagon.

The series not only taught you how to adult and make money, but also opened my eyes to diabetes (which I didn’t know was a thing until Stacey was diagnosed, despite my grandfather having it for years. Oops.) bereavement and divorce. I borrowed these from my local library and honestly, I read each and every one at least twice. I loved them.

Film wasn’t great though.

Babysitter’s Little Sister by Ann M. Martin

0590065858

Image via Odd Ducks

Recognise that name, yeah?

Not content with one amazing series, Ann blessed us with another, this time from the perspective of Karen, Kristy from the BSC’s step sister. For a long time I thought Karen and I were the same people – we both wore glasses and had a little brother. And neither of us could count very well. It also deals with the reality of coming from a broken home (not an area of expertise for me) perfectly.

Confessions of Georgia Nicolson by Louise Rennison

Image via Blog of a Bibliophile

I discovered this series when I was just entering secondary school and within seconds I had decided I wanted to be Georgia’s friend. We discovered boys, clothes, relationships and evil classmates together, and I swear when she and Dave the Laugh finally got together I had the biggest smile on my face for ages after. I was always Team Dave, because who needs Robbie the Sex God when you’ve got a guy who can make you giggle?

Children of the Famine series by Marita Conlon McKenna

obr978childrenofthefamine

Image via Books.ie

The first book of the trilogy, Under the Hawthorn Tree, featured siblings Eily, Michael and Peggy, who go in search of their gran aunts after losing both their parents, and their baby sister Bridget, in the Famine. I still have a very vivid memory of being in fourth class in school and listening to my teacher read it to us.

Book two, Wildflower Girl,set six years after the first, sees Peggy travel to America at the ripe age of 13 to start a new life for herself.

Fields of Home, the finale, introduces us to Eily’s family and deals with their life after the Famine. Eily and her husband John are struggling to raise money for a home, and when events change it could make this struggle even harder.

This series is among the best selling in Ireland, and a regular feature in primary school education. When you read it, it’s not hard to see why.

Being her Sister by Claire Hennessy

937730

Image via Goodreads

I never had a sister. When I was four, I asked my Mammy if I could have a sister and was instead presented with a brother. Hard knocks.

Instead, I sought books about siblings for comfort. Claire’s offering showed me that actually, I wasn’t really missing out on as much as I feared I would be. Danielle and Rachel, the two sisters in this book, hated each other. There was none of the sharing clothes and staying up late nights gossiping I had thought would always come when I had a sister of my own (what did I know though? I was nine, there was a five year age gap so even if my brother WAS born a girl, how was I going to fit into clothes that size?)

It showed the need to show perfection, and not feeling good enough, perfectly though. I knew plenty about that one.

The Hiring Fair by Eilis O Hara

Image via Amazon

I was always a big Irish history nerd, and I adored this book. Sally and Katie are sold at a hiring fair following the death of their father in a fishing accident. The families they work for live close to each other, so the sisters still get to see each other, and I loved that they got to still be as close despite the hardship. Also, the family Sally went to weren’t too a bad bunch, and there was even a baby.

3 thoughts on “The Pretty Purple Polka Dots Book Club: More books I loved as a child

Leave a comment and make me smile

