Awards Season: and the Liebster goes to

Awards season is here, and I am lucky enough to be able to get involved too. Thanks so much to Sapphire AND to Katie for nominating me for a Liebster Award. Can’t say I expected it (at all), but I am carrying the trophy proudly since my win.

Image via Imgur

See?

So what happens here is I gotta thank the person who nominated me (done), provide 11 facts about myself, answer 11 questions, and nominate between five and 11 bloggers to carry on the trend.

That’s a lot of elevenses.

liebsteraward

First off, eleven facts. I’m not a very exciting person, so I cannot see this going well.

  1. My favourite colour isn’t purple. It’s actually yellow.
  2. Haribo is my weakness.
  3. I speak fluent Irish and strong conversational German.
  4. I still can’t bloody drive. Next test will be attempt number four.
  5. I have three cats. I miss them a lot when I’m in Wales.
  6. If you cook me pasta I’ll probably marry you.
  7. In Nandos I get plain chicken and then cover it in garlic piri piri sauce.
  8. I have a bronze medal in the piano, and got up to grade three in the LAMDA exams for speech and drama.
  9. I have blood pressure problems where if it gets low, down I go. It’s a common enough thing but it’s still pretty scary. Luckily, it doesn’t happen very often.
  10. I only started drinking coffee last year. Now, Im hooked. Oops.
  11. I also only started drinking red wine late last year. I’m still warming to it, really.

Questions from Sapphire

Starting with a weird one: Would a sea fairy have a tail or legs?

I’m thinking a tail. And beautiful wings. I would draw what I imagine a sea fairy to look like but unfortunately my talents don’t stretch past stick men.

What is your favourite photo you’ve taken for your blog? Post it here!

Most of the photos I’ve taken are just generic photos of clothes I’ve bought. However, I’m making an attempt to make my Instagram a bit more of a bookagram, so if you like pictures and books (or pictures OF books) I am here for you.

What is your all time favourite blog post that you have written?

I have a few favourites, but right now I’m pretty proud of my reading challenge post. It’s really kicked me up the hole to start reading properly again.

Are you a spender or a saver?

I don’t think I could save for a Freddo bar. Money flies out of my hand as soon as it touches base. But recently I have tried to be a little more clever with my money and how I spend it. Hasn’t gone very well, though.

Describe your perfect first date

April 25th.

Image via Tumblr

No srs. Something nice and easy going, maybe coffee in town. Or a walk in the park on one of the rare days it isn’t raining in Cardiff.

What is your favourite thing about you? (physical traits or personality)

I’ve got very nice eyes. And I’m very loyal and friendly.

What is your favourite book and/or magazine?

My favourite book is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. My favourite magazines include Stellar, Cosmo, Blogosphere and Glamour.

What’s your biggest pet peeve about blogging?

Automated DMs on Twitter. They’re so pushy and really impersonal. Don’t force your blog on me. Show me why I should care first, and if I like it, I’ll go read it.

What’s your guiltiest pleasure?

Sitting in bed with a candle, tea, biscuits, a book, and a cookery show in the background.

Image via Tumblr

Image via Tumblr

What was the best compliment you ever received?

God, I have no idea. My Dad once told me I’m a more technical driver than my Mam. (We don’t tell her that, though.)

Do you read my blog?

I’ll be honest, I followed a lot of the story of Sapphire’s Dad’s last days. My grandmother battled cancer for 14 years, and reading it really hit a familiar bone. I spent most of my time reading it in BITS.

Questions from Katie

What do you feel is the best thing about blogging?

I love getting to share my thoughts on the books I’ve read recently. I’d love to go into professional book reviewing, and this is the perfect way to hone it.

Do you enjoy reading blogs more than writing them or vice versa?

Can I say both and be really bold? I love writing up posts, getting it all together so I’m happy with it, but I’m also a huge fan of reading other people’s work.

What is the most embarrassing thing you or someone you know have experienced?

I honestly cannot remember the most embarrassing thing that’s happened to. Or, maybe I can and it’s on a need to know basis.

What types of blogs do you enjoy most? (e.g. beauty, fashion, lifestyle, etc.)

I love book blogs. Reading about other people’s reading habits, their favourite books, that sort of thing. Book blogs will always be my favourites.

Who is your biggest celebrity crush and why?

Ryan Reynolds. Every single day. Not only is he really good looking, he’s hilarious, and was responsible for possibly the best moment of cinema ever.

(However, he does have a child now. Baggage. Hmm.)

Do you have a favourite beauty brand? If so, who?

I like Urban Decay, their foundation is very long lasting and I think we all love the Naked eyeshadow palettes. I’ve also got two of their lipsticks and I love them.

One piece of make up you could not live without?

Eyeliner. And I’ve finally learned how to use it, unlike when I was 16 and just daubed it on willy nilly. Panda eyes central.

Weirdest habits of yours?

I talk to myself a LOT (hey, gotta have some intelligent conversation, right?).

What do people in your offline life think of your blog?

My uncle has told me (via my Dad) that he loves reading “my things”, so hi! A friend told me she refuses to read it because I never featured her in one of my posts. My parents have never read it, but “we hear it’s very good”. Cheers, lads.

Who is your best online friend and how did you both meet?

I don’t think I have a best online friend? I suppose the closest is Chloe, who once ran Very Lovely Stuff. I’ve met her a few times and she’s as lovely as the name suggests.

Who is your main online influence? (E.g. blogger, youtuber, viner, etc.)

I really, really like Clisare. Her videos are hilarious, realistic, and she inspired me to find out more about my own home. I’d love to work with her one day.

I nominate

Kat

Jenna

Amie

Katy

Jess

Lucie

Lisa

Sophie

Becky

Alisha

Emmi

My questions

  1. What’s your favourite colour?
  2. Where would be your dream holiday?
  3. How did you spend Valentine’s Day this year?
  4. Do you use Netflix? What do you recommend to watch on it?
  5. How’s your eyesight?
  6. What phone do you have?
  7. Where do you do your weekly shop?
  8. Did you make any new year’s resolutions? How are they going?
  9. What Harry Potter house would you be in and why?
  10. What’s the most important thing you’ve learned since you started blogging?
  11. Do you use Snapchat? (Bonus: follow me on prettyppd).
2 thoughts on “Awards Season: and the Liebster goes to

Leave a comment and make me smile

