Would You Rather – the book edition

More tags? Oh but of course, would it be this blog without a few of them? I’m trying to build my book content here on this blog, and I think this blog tag from Madhu over at Purrfect Girl is a perfect way to get that ball rolling.

After all, who doesn’t love talking about books? I was going to do this as a video, the first video for the blog, but I don’t think anyone is quite ready for the voice yet.

WOULD YOU RATHER

1. Read only trilogies or stand alones?

Wow, straight in with the tough choices. I think if it came to a push I’d say a stand alone, because a lot of my favourite books are stand alone novels.

2. Read only male or female authors?

I rarely (if ever) pick a book based just on the gender of the author. But, since last year I read predominately female authors, maybe I’ll say male and aim to do that this year.

3. Shop at book shops or Amazon?

Book shops always. You can physically pick up the book and smell it, and that’s amazing. And, if it’s like my favourite book shop – The Book Centre in Waterford – you get to sit in the café and have some coffee while reading the actual book – can you do that instantly with Amazon? Didn’t think so.
 
4. All books become films or TV shows?

Let’s all sit and think how great it would be to have them made as TV shows. Hour long episodes dedicated to each chapter, going into a lot more detail than the film would. The dream.

Image via We Heart It

5. Read five pages a day or five books a week?

I’d actually rather have five pages a day than the latter. Five a week is ideal, doable, and I’d love to do it, but it would also mean I might lose some of the essence of the story by going through it so quickly.

6. Be a professional reviewer or author?

When I was younger I quite fancied myself as an author, filling copies with stories. While I still have some ideas in my head and there’s definitely a book in me somewhere, I would love to make a living reviewing books. I’ve done some of it on my blog so far and I really love it.

7. Only read your top 20 books, or only ever read new books?

New books. I’m always looking for new books to read, and I’m not a huge fan of re-reading. If I’m going to be re-reading, it’s gotta be a really good and gripping read.

8. Be a librarian or a book seller?

I’m not very enamoured by both of these. But if I had to pick, I’d say a book seller. Imagine the warm happy feeling of introducing someone to their new favourite book, which they can keep for their very own?

9. Only read your favourite genre, or read every genre except your favourite?

My favourite genre. I think there’s enough excitement and drama in YA fiction to keep me going for years on end.

10. Only read physical books or only read e books?

This is easy. I am a ‘Physical Books’ person. My Dad has a Kindle and tried to get me into it. He failed miserably, and it’s now gathering dust. I love holding a book, flipping the pages, smelling it. Physical books all the way.

 

8 thoughts on “Would You Rather – the book edition

  1. Brilliant answers! I’m so with you on bookshops – it’s tough because I live abroad in a non-English speaking country so I do buy a lot of my books from Amazon for practical reasons, but I always make it a point to nip to a bookshop whenever I’m in the UK just to show support! And I definitely agree that all books should be series – many a story has been ruined by attempts to squish it into a movie!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Salon: Would you Rather? | Writing about books

  3. Pingback: Would You Rather? Book Style – Elysa the Biblioblogger

Leave a comment and make me smile

