New Year’s Resolutions Book tag

The beauty of these tags is that sometimes, someone will suggest you to do them. For the last few tags I’ve filled in, I’ve found them online myself. This one is different – someone actually thought of me to do it. ZeeZee tagged me in the New Year’s Book Resolutions post on her blog, and I love this as it’s a great way to think deeper about what’s on your bookshelf. It’s a little break from the book reviews too.

Get in shape: Name a book that doesn’t quite fit on your shelf correctly.

All the above books are tall copies, either in hardback or paperback form. My bookshelf only has enough space in each shelf for regular height books, so these four have had to take up residence elsewhere (read: the floor.)

Eat healthy: Name a book you feel was good for you to read.

Image via The Handwritten Girl

Absolutely everyone should read Asking for It. It will completely change your life. For me, it was a really insightful (and absolutely terrifying) look into the small town mentality you can see when it comes to sexual assault and things like that. Don’t pretend if something like this happened to you, your whole town/school wouldn’t react in a similar way.

Read more: Name a book you keep telling yourself to read but haven’t yet.

Image via Goodreads

I’ve heard such good things about Jonas Jonasson’s books. My Dad has read The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden and he loved it. I’ve yet to bring my copy to Wales with me, but when I do I will probably devour it in a couple days. At most. And then move onto King of Sweden.

Quit smoking: Name a book you kept going back to even though you had finished it.

Image via Diary of a Book Girl

There’s the Harry Potter books. There’s Candy by Kevin Brooks. But I cannot count how many times I’ve picked up Where Rainbows End (also published as Love Rosie). I feel like Rosie and Alex are my close friends every time I read them, the story is so beautifully told and so familiar to me.

Save more money: Name a book you got for a really good price.

Image via Goodreads

I swear by eBay for bargains on books. I’ve been rebuilding my library, refinding books I used to own but gave away. I once had a set of four Geraldine McCaughrean’s books, and brought them with me on my holiday to Australia, but I left some there for my host Sinéad to read. I found most of them again on eBay for no more than €2.99. Bargain!

Be more organized: How do you organize your bookshelf?

I like to stack them all according to author. My Cecelia Ahern books, Kevin Brooks books (try saying that fast five times) and Jodi Picoult books are all together. Any other author just fits in anywhere.

Be punctual: Shortest time and longest time it took you to read a book.

Shortest time was probably about three hours. Back before there was such a thing as WiFi and Facebook and distractions.

Longest was a few months, which is what happens now that I’m in the middle of a degree, article submissions and assignments. Hard knock life, I know, but I do aim to read a little more and a lot quicker this year.

Go out more: What book made you isolate yourself from the outside world?

Image via First Choice

I brought One Day on holiday with me to Lanzarote three years ago. I’d given up on it previously, but my cousin convinced me to pick it back up again.

I am so glad she did. I absolutely loved it. While my family went swimming, I sat on my deck chair happy out, burning to a crisp and speeding through the book. I had it finished over two days, I picked it up first in the evening and had turned the last page by the end of the next day. Maybe that’s just one day?

Be unique: What was your favorite book of 2015?

It has to be Asking for It. Anyone I’ve spoken to who also read it felt the exact same as I did – really enjoyed it, but a little unnerved by its content. I would recommend it to absolutely anyone ever, and it should be put on the Leaving Cert curriculum – as the single text, so it gets the credit it deserves.

Be more personal: What book are you waiting for most this year?

Strangely enough, there isn’t really any one book I’m really looking forward to this year. Last year there were a few, but I’ve not really heard of any coming out in 2016 yet.

Really, resolutions?: What book do you promise to read this year?

There are so many books I want to read this year I don’t actually know where to begin. . . I recently won a copy of All the Light We Cannot See and I can’t wait to get started on it properly.

Who do I tag?

Books with Ems

Blogs of a Bookaholic

Bibliophile Book Club

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions Book tag

Leave a comment and make me smile

