Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Challenge criteria: A book with a blue cover

Blurb:

Single mum Jane has just moved to town. She’s got her little boy in tow – plus the secret she’s been carrying for five years.

On the first day of the school run she meets Madeline – a force to be reckoned with, who remembers everything and forgives no one – and Celeste, the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare, but is inexplicably ill at ease. They both take Jane under their wing – while careful to keep their own secrets under wraps.

But a minor incident involving the children of all three women rapidly escalates: playground whispers become spiteful whispers until no one can tell the truth from the lies.

Which is when the secrets come out – and now someone is going to pay with their life.

image

What I liked:

What I loved most about any other Liane Moriarty book I’ve read wad being totally unable to predict the twist if I tried. This time was no different. You know someone is dead, you have a feeling where they died. But you haven’t a notion who, who killed them, or how they died. When I found out who (not when I guessed) I was so shocked I had to sit back for a minute.

I loved the excerpts from the town’s residents on all the goings on, too. It heavily mirrored the small town mentality I grew up in, and it really added to the story. It also keeps you on your toes in terms of guessing who.

What I didn’t like:

I HATED Alison. She was your typical “do good” teenager, and some of her actions – completely abandoning her Mam, for a start – were just dumbfounding. As for her humanitarian project? DON’T TALK TO ME.

I also didn’t like the relationship between Celeste and her husband Perry. While I believe it was written in a very realistic way, I felt abusive relationships can be overdone in books.

Out of 5:

No hesitation in giving this a five. None.

6 thoughts on “Review: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

  1. Great review! Thanks for tweeting me the link 🙂 I love a book with a good plot twist, I get tired of guessing ahead so I love a good surprise! Must pick this up & give it a read 🙂
    pale-girl.com
    Xo

  2. Oh, man. Abigail. Part of me wants to shake the girl, and another part of me sort of feels for her. Maybe it’s that I remember the impotent teenage phase of my life a little too clearly… Not that I’d have ever ever ever tried to pull a stunt like she did, for heaven’s sake. But it can be hard feeling tiny in a giant world. Obviously she was seeking attention in the only way she could think to do it.

    • I know, wouldn’t you love to sit her down for a good long chat! She was clearly trying to help, and thought that was the best way to do it, but TOO FAR LIANE.

Leave a comment and make me smile

