2016 Reading Challenge

Last year, without even knowing what I was doing, I completed the Modern Mrs Darcy reading challenge. This year, alongside my Goodreads challenge of reading 50 books, I decided to complete the two in tandem.

As well as that, Sharon of Behind Green Eyes introduced me to the PopSugar reading challenge. Naturally, I had to take this one on board for 2016 too.

I’ve had to neglect my reading over the last few months, as I’ve been quite hectic with my Masters, so I’m really hoping this will help to get me back on track.

Unlike last year, once I have a book category ticked off the list, I’ll put up a proper review of it on the blog so you can see what I really thought of it.

So, with 360 days to go, time to get cracking. I’m thinking some of the books could overlap a few categories, making the challenges a little easier to fill.

Here’s the prompts for both of them, in case you’d like to take part too. If you’ve read any of the books you think would fit, please let me know as I love reading new material.

*Note: “A book you can read in a day”, “a book recommended by a family member”, and “a book published this year” feature in both challenges.

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge 2016

A book published this year

A book you can finish in a day

A book you’ve been meaning to read

A book recommended by your local librarian/bookseller

A book you should have read in school

A book chosen for you by your sibling/partner/spouse/child/BFF

A book published before you were born

A book that was banned at some point

A book you previously abandoned

A book you own but have never read

A book that intimidates you

A book you’ve already read at least once

PopSugar Reading Challenge 2016

A book based on a fairy tale

A National Book Award Winner

A YA bestseller

A book you haven’t read since high school

A book set in your home state

A book translated into English

A romance set in the future

A book set in Europe

A book under 150 pages

A New York Times bestseller

A book becoming a movie this year

A book recommended by someone you just met

A self-improvement book

A book written by a celebrity

A political memoir

A book at least 100 years older than you

A book more than 600 pages

A book from Oprah’s Book Club

A science fiction novel

A book with a protagonist who has your occupation

A book taking place in summer

A book and its prequel

A murder mystery

A book written by a comedian

A dystopian novel

A book with a blue cover

A book of poetry

The first book you see in a bookstore

A 20th Century classic

A book from the library

An autobiography

A book about a road trip

A book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with

A satirical book

A book taking place on an island

A book guaranteed to bring you joy

I think that’s definitely enough books for one year, don’t you?

Have you got any books you think would fit into the categories above?

12 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenge

  1. Wow! That’s a great list, I hope you’re able to work through as many books as you’d like to in 2016. I love reading but just lately I’ve not read as many books as I’d like to have done. Really must get back into it again. Great post 🙂 x Sharon from rosieloveslife.blogspot.com

    • Thanks Sharon! I’m a little behind, according to Goodreads, but I’m gonna get picking up again. Always set aside at least an hour to read each day, you’ll be surprised then how much you can get through!

  2. Pingback: 2016 Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge | Much Ado About Books

Leave a comment and make me smile

