2016 New Year’s Resolutions

I may have missed out on these last year, but fear not. I have so much this year I want to accomplish, there’s lots of ways to make up for its omission.

Get a really good degree

It is a lot of work, and sometimes it can get a little much. But I’ve worked very hard for my degree so far, and I’m not prepared to give up just yet. There’s a while yet to go until my final deadline in September, but I am very prepared to do whatever it takes to get there. That means cracking down on my assignments due this month, which I’ll be getting into as soon as I go back to Cardiff this week.

Image via The Kiwi in the Clouds

Really impress in my internships

I’m very lucky to have been offered internships in two fantastic publications early in the year as part of my course. Who’s to say if they could possibly keep me on, but that won’t stop me from giving it everything I can in the newsrooms. Even if nothing comes from it, the experience is something I will definitely be grateful for.

Image via Planning with Kids

Blog more often

I admit, my blogging fell very much to the wayside after I’d finished up my undergraduate degree, as I went through quite a tough time in my life. I’m very determined not to let that happen again this year. I’ve got a lot in mind coming up for this year, and I can’t wait to share it all with you. I’ve got one thing in mind I’ve always wanted to feature on this blog – but you’ll have to come back again to see what it is.

(Meanie. I know.)

Image via Instagram

See a little more of the world

Last year I did something I’ve always wanted to do, and visited London for a weekend.  This year I’d love to see a little more of the world, including a few places around the UK I’ve never seen.

I do also want to go back to my travel bucket list from Dublin, and I promise myself within the year I will have seen the Titanic Museum in Belfast, even if I have to go there alone.

Image via Pinterest

Re-read

I know I said this the last time too, but I really do want to up my reading game this year. I’ve seen people ask a fellow blogger where she got the time to read over 150 books in 2015, and she said she just reads at night. I’ve decided rather than spend endless hours on my phone at night, I’m going to start ploughing through some books instead. I used to do that back when I worked in Dublin, but somehow convinced myself when I started my degree I just never had time. At least five chapters a night should work to get me back to where I was.

Image via The Berry

What are your resolutions for this year? Did you keep last year’s?

11 thoughts on “2016 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. All the best for the new year and your project. If you aim to work hard now I am sure it’ll be excellent and I hope that your performance is very impressive in your internships. I am hoping to go on an exchange to America this year and finally enter a new continent other than Europe.

    Ellen,
    http://fishnetsxd.blogspot.ie

  2. Love this! Reading books is one of mine as I take ages to read one lately due to too much internet surfing. reading also reduces stress by 64%! Good luck with your resolutions X

  3. Every bit of luck with your uni degree and interneships! I was the same when it came to falling down with blogging, I had my blog almost a year with posts I wasn’t 100% with before finally starting up again and actually going for it. I can’t wait to see what you post! The travelling is a good one, and there are loads of great places around the UK that aren’t necessarily cities, but that have their attractions which make them so unique and interesting ^_^ and lastly good luck with the reading! I’ve really fallen down in that in the last few year (internet!) …maybe I should make that one of my resolutions as well?? Haha!

Leave a comment and make me smile

