2015 Reading Challenge

The year is almost closed and I’ve finally reached my Goodreads challenge of 40 books. But it turns out there’s another book challenge that’s been running throughout the year I hadn’t even heard of.

Shocking, I know. If it’s about books, I MUST already know, right?

I may not have been part taking, but I still see no harm in seeing if I actually would have passed it, right? Obviously, I’m only going to be including books I started and finished between January 1st and now.

Is it just me, or does January seem like only yesterday?

5b4827593049c070c3635823d04749db

 

A book you’ve been meaning to read

I admit to jumping on the bandwagon a little bit, but when the release of Go Set A Watchman was announced, it was time for me to pick up its predecessor. It’s a popular choice for Junior Cert students in Ireland, but my class didn’t take it that year. Even my little brother had read it before I did, and he never reads.

I wasn’t too enamoured by it, I have to admit. Try as much as I did, I just couldn’t get into the story.

A book published this year

I finished Me Before You last year, and when I heard there would be a sequel I, and my friend Orla, almost DIED.

Image via riffys

When it was released in September it took me about a week to buy it. Thanks to an insanely busy degree course, it took me another month to finish it. But that’s not to say I didn’t like the book- I loved it.

A book in a genre you don’t typically read

I’m not a big fan of thriller or mystery novels, but this year I polished my way through two of them: Can Anybody Help Me by Sinéad Crowley, and Saving Grace by Jane Green. Both were a fantastic read, and they opened me up to the genre itself. I’ll definitely be looking out for more of them.

A book from your childhood

Ah, the teenage years. They were filled with teenage discos, questionable fashion choices, and the Junior Cert.

I was still as big a book nerd then as I am now, and British author Louise Rennison was one of my favourite authors. In July, I found some of the Tallulah Casey series in Easons, and naturally they came home with me.

I pretty much sped through the books, and I swear it was just like I was 15 again.

A book your mother loves

My Mam isn’t a big reader, so I’m going to change it to “a book your dad loves”.

A friend of mine gave me a copy of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon for my birthday, after I’d asked her if I could read her favourite book. When he spotted me reading through it on the plane to Newcastle, my Dad asked if he could take it from me. It was a favourite of his from his days as a national school teacher, and he and I both really enjoyed reading it.

A book that was originally written in another language

SKIP.  I haven’t read one.

A book “everyone” has read but you

Every single YA fiction lover has read Eleanor and Park, and then there was me who didn’t pick it up until about three months ago. Friends have lauded it as one of the best they’ve ever read. Everyone on Goodreads loved it.

Me, I was a little indifferent. Sure, it was a great read and there was plenty for discussion in it. But I wasn’t as moved by it as many other readers seemed to have been.

A book you chose because of the cover

I didn’t specifically chose it for the cover – I’d heard fantastic things about what was inside, too – but Only Ever Yours by Louise O Neill had a really appropriate cover. What better way to show perfection than a Barbie doll?

21805717

Image via Universe in Words

A book recommended to you by someone with great taste

My friend Orla recommended to me that I should read Me Before You by JoJo Moyes. She promised me, very emphatically, this was one of the best books she had ever read, but it would totally break my heart.

She wasn’t wrong. The ending almost killed me, and I’m certain I went through an entire box of Kleenex.

A book you should have read in high school

If I’m honest, I probably should have read Are Y0u There God, It’s Me, Margaret? a lot earlier than I did. It’s got a lot of advice and anecdotes about growing up, and the horrors that can come with it. I’m a little surprised and ashamed it took me as long as to 23 before I picked it up, because it’s something that would have been a big benefit to me as a teeny bopper.

A book that’s currently on the bestseller list

The Girl On The Train has probably been on a bestseller list since it was released. With good reason too – it’s a definite page turner. Despite being able to guess the twist about halfway through (what can I say, I have a gift) I was still hooked until the very end. Even my Dad is a fan of this one.

6 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge

  1. I only got around to reading that Judy Blume this year. At age 32. Seriously… I took nothing from it, I want to re-read “Forever” but I don’t want to cringe my way through it! Also read ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ this year but I loved it. Really liked ‘After You’ too!

    • Same, I was a bit shocked it took me so long to get to read it. And I felt it would be more of a help to me maybe 10 or 15 years ago.
      I thought I would be shamed throughout the Tallulah ones but I loved it!

  2. I’ve had a okay year for reading and I even managed to pass my Goodreads challenge too. I might give this list a go and see if I can tick off most of them. I really want to read Ruby Red which is a YA series that was originally in German. I just bought Only Ever Yours there recently. I’m hoping to get to it soon. I loved her book Asking for it.

    • I passed my Goodreads and I really didn’t expect to!
      Give it a try, I really recommend it!
      And Louise O Neill is one of the best authors I’ve read in such a long time!

Leave a comment and make me smile

