The Christmas Tag

If there’s one time of year I love, it’s Christmas. Given that I’ve just flown home from the UK on Friday, and Christmas itself is only a mere five days away, this is the perfect time to get into the Christmas cheer and take a peek at some Christmas traditions in my life.

After all, it really is the most wonderful time of the year. You have been forewarned- this will be a ridiculously cheesy post.

This list is a mixture of questions taken from Danielle over at LilliWhiteRose, Telma at Glammed Up Me, and Morgan of The Enthusiast.

What is your earliest Christmas memory?

The first Christmas from my childhood I can remember was when I was about four. It was 1996 and the Spice Girls were HUGE. For Christmas we visit each of my grandparents, and when I was at my mother’s parent’s house myself and two of my cousins spent the evening pretending we were the Spice Girls.

What one toy/ gift can you remember throughout all your Christmases?

I can vividly remember getting a dog called Fluffy one year. When you called the dog, it would cock its ear and walk towards you. I thought this was the best thing I had ever seen, and I had that dog still in the house somewhere for at least ten years.

What do you/your family usually do to celebrate Christmas?

My family’s Christmas is spent visiting all the rest of our family, watching the Christmas film channel on Sky, and eating our body weights in Pringles, turkey sandwiches, and tinned chocolates.

How many days before Christmas does your decorating start? 

The tree and everything else goes up on December 8th, and remains upright until January 6th, the traditional day in Ireland to have all Christmas decorations put back in their boxes for another year.

What is on your favourite Christmas menu?

Dinner has to be the usual; turkey, no ham. Mountains of potato, some carrots, stuffing, and as much gravy as you can get away with before my brother gets his hands on the gravy boat. Dessert is trifle, or jelly and ice cream for the young (and young at heart) people in the house. In the evening, we have tea (in the form of a salad plate) at my aunt’s house.

Have you ever had a white Christmas?

Christmas 2010 will always stick out in my mind as the whitest Christmas we ever had. Not only was it snowing, it was absolutely freezing. The car almost skidded on the roads coming back home from my aunt’s place. 

What traditions will you continue on with your family (or future family)?

Much as it might prove difficult if I move away for good, I’d love to still be able to come visit each of my families over the Christmas period.

Can you name Santa’s reindeer’s names? (without googling??)

Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen, Rudolph. Easy.

It’s 5am on Christmas morning. Where can you be found?

In bed sleeping. Hopefully.

Did you ever sneak a peak at your Christmas presents when you were younger or now? 

Much more often than I care to admit to. My brother and I sometimes go on a hunt in the house as well.

What would you love to get this year for Christmas?

I don’t really have too much I would like; a Mayo GAA jersey, some MAC make up and some make up brushes to add to my fairly small collection.

What does Christmas mean to you?

To me, Christmas has always been about being with family. It’s about being together with the ones you love most, sharing the joy and the gifts.

What is your favourite Christmas film?

Not a Christmas film per se, but I love watching Lady and the Tramp at Christmas. I mean, Jim Dear gives Darling Lady as a Christmas present, so that has to make it count somehow, right?

For actual Chritsmas films, it HAS to be Miracle on 34th Street. AOIFE BELIEVES.

What tops your tree?

We used to have an angel that topped our tree but I think the plastic part under the angel broke, so it couldn’t fit around the top branch of the tree properly. So, we now have a smaller blue angel.

As a kid what was the one (crazy, wild, extravagant) gift you always asked for but never received?
I really wanted a puppy from Fur Real Friends that would respond to your voice and your voice only. And you could name it and it would remember its name. But unfortunately Santy’s budget didn’t stretch to a €200 dog. Fake or not.

Where do you usually spend your holiday?

I always spend Christmas at home with my family. I can never imagine spending it anywhere else.

What is your favorite Christmas song?

The simplistic beauty of Bing and Bowie can never be topped.

Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

It’s always been tradition to open one present on Christmas Eve, usually the one my brother and I gave each other. The rest are then kept for the following morning.

Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

Fake. And I’m not at all sure why we’ve never had a real tree. Probably something to do with all the shedding. And the cats.

What is your all-time favorite holiday food/sweet treat?

The really fancy ice cream we buy every single Christmas that’s made close to where I grew up. That, or the strawberry Roses.

Be honest: do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

The giving. I love seeing the looks on my friend’s faces when they open their present from me, even if I’m really bad at buying things for others.

Oh yes, I see what you mean, that look is priceless.

What is the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

I’ve received a lot of great gifts over the years, but I think the one that bests all is the personalised wine bottle given to me by my friend Jenny last year. I’ve made a promise to keep it until my wedding day, when she and I will drink the vinegar that will no doubt fill the bottle.

What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

New York. I’d love to see the Rockefeller tree, and who could say no to a shopping trip around the Big Apple

Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I’m awful. Most of the time, I just shove the present into a pretty looking bag and hope no one will say anything about it.

Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

Over the last few years I’ve made posts about my resolutions, as well as how they’ve gone. Stay looking out for the 2016 resolutions post (it feels so weird the new year is so close.)

Favourite Christmas scent?

Cinnamon in absolutely any form.
 
What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year?

Coming home for Christmas and seeing all my family in such a small amount of time. An uncle of mine lives in London, but he comes home for Christmas every year without fail. As well as that, having been in Wales for college since September, I haven’t seen any of my extended family in a long time. My friend in Dublin has also recently given birth to her first child, and my cousin is due her first baby just after the new year. This year, coming home is that little bit more special.

One thought on “The Christmas Tag

  1. Pingback: The Christmas Tag! | Ann's Reading Corner

Leave a comment and make me smile

