The Royal Visit

Last Friday, I finished up my first semester of my Masters degree, but there was no time to catch up on all the sleep I’ve lost in those three months.

My friend Sorcha, who I met during my days working in Dublin Airport, came to see me for a long weekend. And our weekend, which actually turned out to be very short, was chock filled.

If you’re planning a trip to Cardiff, why not incorporate some of these ideas?

Friday

Friday was filled with me saying a goodbye to my classmates, having all our work before Christmas handed in and lectures finished up. Sorcha tagged along as we celebrated with lunch and a drink at The Woodville, a pub near our uni building. We all then went for some sleep before heading out in Cardiff City to sample the nightlife – for some of us, it was the first night out in a LONG time, and boy did we make the most of it.

Saturday

Ok, I admit it. Saturday didn’t start until half 12 – Sorcha and I were a little tired after having been out until three in the morning. When we did wake up, we didn’t waste any time ticking some sights off our list.

We spent Saturday walking around St David’s, Cardiff’s main shopping centre. The centre has hundreds of shops and restaurants, and now it’s home to most of our money too.

We started off with lunch/dinner (linner?) in Nandos with my friend Lizzie, then looked around the shops in St David’s a while.

On Saturday evening my friend Lauren met us, and we went to see The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2. I was quite proud of myself for not crying, but I was so surprised by how much of what happened in the book I had seemingly forgotten in the two years since I read it.

Sunday

On Sunday evening, we went to visit Cardiff’s Winter Wonderland, right in the middle of the city. We met with my friends Lauren and Jessica for a night to relax us and a proper catch up before Christmas.

We took a ride on the Ferris wheel, played the Hook’Em game (where I won a blue penguin named Walter, after much deliberation) and got crepes filled with Nutella and strawberries or bananas.

Leave a comment and make me smile

