Day 10: A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

This post is part of the 30 Day Book Challenge.

Much as I champion chick lit fiction, it can have its moments. There is such a thing as “too fluffy”. This was one encounter where “too fluffy” was almost a pipe dream.

When I had just finished Only Ever Yours (aka one of my favourite books of this year), I felt I needed something a bit lighter to bring the mood back.

I picked up The Summer of Secrets by Alison Lucy to fill in the void. It shared the stories of three young girls- Megan, Esme and Claudia- who go in search of their father after 16 years. Turns out the father is the same man, and that’s not even the most exciting part of the story. You have that bit worked out within the first chapter.

image via Goodreads

I read some of this at breaks in work back in the day, and I vividly remember falling off the bin once with the shock.

The story takes more turns than an Irish back road, and the ending is completely out of the blue. So much so, I terrified a couple of passengers by exclaiming “WHAT” at the top of my lungs. So there’s that.

I really, honestly didn’t expect to enjoy this one as much as I did, but it really surprised me.

Leave a comment and make me smile

