Day Eight: Most underrated book

This post is part of the 30 Day Book Challenge.

I could go on and on about how much I adore this book for years. Then I’d only ruin it and you’d never end up reading it, which would be a massive shame.

I Wished For You by Amy Huberman came out in 2013. At the time (and still to this day) I fancied myself as her undiscovered best friend, and reading this book only cemented that for me- she and I were spirit animals.

I mean, there was a mention of Tangtastics within the first ten pages, for crying out loud. If that isn’t an indication that someone is your spirit animal, I don’t quite know what  is.

Amy could be writing about anyone we know when she talks about Grace- 30s, in a stable long term relationship but no ring on it, and a great job she loves. Then, a trip to New York sends her life into complete disarray. It’s not until she meets Verity, her “fairy godmother”, that it all starts coming back together.

The story of Grace also seemed somehow very familiar (hello commitment phobe) and I fell in love with her from the first page. There are, however, some touching and emotional parts, and these will really get to you, making you think about the value of life connected to the events at hand.

This is a great feel good book, and definitely one to pick up if you’ve just finished a rather taxing read to ease you back in.

Leave a comment and make me smile

