Day One: – A book series you wish had gone on longer OR a book series you wish would just end already.

This blog post is part of the 30 Day Book Challenge.

This is a double parter, but I’m going to take the first option and reminisce on a series I would have loved to have gone on longer.

I’ve read a lot of book series in my time. Some trundled on, some I had completely devoured within days of getting the next book. While I’ve never wished for one to end quickly, there was one particular book series I felt was far too short, and left itself open to so much further writing by the final volume it was ridiculous.

Of course it had to be Harry Potter. And I know it’s cliché but I don’t care.

We’re all familiar with the ending, where a grown up Harry sees his children off to Hogwarts for his son’s first year in school. We’re reminded that “all was well” whenever we dip back into the last few pages.

And maybe it was. But JK Rowling, I implore you, you simply CANNOT leave us with just that.

There’s a lot of scope for a continuation of the series. Who wouldn’t want to see what Hogwarts would be like with Hugo and Rose Weasley, James and Albus Potter and Teddy Lupin roaming the halls?

What were the school days of James, Lily, Severus and Voldermort like?

And, more importantly, why can’t we have the gaps between the end of the war and the time Harry, Ginny, Ron, and Hermione dropped their kids off to the train.

With all the head cannon posts popping up on Tumblr every so often, it wouldn’t be hard to piece your own novel together. But no one else can capture the magic quite like Rowling.

Leave a comment and make me smile

