Five things I learned about moving country

Alright, yes, I do bang on about it. But I promise, this is a post that maybe you won’t roll your eyes too deep into your skull at. Maybe.

In the time leading up to when I left Ireland, I’d learned a lot. Both about life, and about myself.

  • In the end, the amount of luggage you book in will never come even close to what you actually need. So far, I’m about ten kilos away from my limit. Which sounds ok, but my hair tools, make up and laptop still needing to fit in, as well as random other pieces of clothes, I’m fairly certain I’m going to surpass my weight limit and then some. Turns out, 25kg isn’t even close to as much as I thought it was.
  • There simply isn’t enough Club Orange, Lyons tea and Dairygold butter that can be brought with you. You’ll try to ration it so it lasts as long as physically possible, then run out within the first week of arriving. You will need to set up care packages with friends in exchange for items native to your new home.
  • The amount of goodbyes you’ll say will leave you in an existential crisis where you question the meaning of the word you’ve used it so often. You’ll also fully believe there will never come a time in your life again when you will be able to cry. Getting on the plane will prove you wrong in spectacular fashion.
  • You’ll most likely end up having convert EVERYTHING. Unless you’re moving within the Eurozone, you’ll need to pay the Post Office a visit to get some new dollah billz/Queen’s money with no commission charges. If you’re a driver you’ll also need to get used to possibly driving on another side of the road, as well as signs being in MPH when you’ve been living in a KM district for most of your life. And it’s a rather strange feeling to have a bank holiday at the end of August rather than at the beginning.
  • You’ll have many moments when you’re not sure this is the best decision you’ve ever made. You’ll fret over your housemates taking an instant dislike towards you. You’ll start worrying whether you’ll actually like the job/college course you’re doing. And, of course, there’s the big one- you’ll spend countless nights lying staring at the ceiling wondering if you’re ever going to make friends. You’ll learn once you open your mouth, everything is fine- the Irish accent is like a natural magnet.
2 thoughts on “Five things I learned about moving country

  1. I remember these feelings so well. And yes, no amount of luggage will ever be enough. I made the mistake of only packing for one season as well. No doubt you will find somewhere that sells treats from home. They will be a bit expensive but the cravings will win. Finally, the accent is always a winner. Good luck on your move!

Leave a comment and make me smile

