The littlest museum of all

There’s a plethora of museums around Dublin city in which to lose yourself for a few hours. But one that escapes notoriety is the Little Museum of Dublin, which has only been on the scene since late 2012.

When I first heard of the museum, I too thought it was a model farm type of attraction. Turns out, I was wrong.

The museum itself takes up an entire Georgian house on Stephen’s Green, owing to its “little museum” moniker. Entrance is a very reachable €7 for adults, and its central location, combined with how easily you’ll get around it, makes it the perfect place to pop into when you’ve got the rest of the day’s sights seen. Much the same as my friend Sorcha and I did, following our morning spent in the zoo, on a rare day we were both off work.

The tour is self guided on the bottom and top floors of the house, but a tour guide (the very lovely and knowledgeable John in our case) will take you through the rest of the museum, On the ground floor is a room dedicated to Dublin writer Christy Brown, whose life was chronicled in his book My Left Foot. The room holds some amazing artefacts from his life, such as his birth cert and a first edition copy of My Left Foot, complete with footnotes. 

2015-07-21 00.22.48

At the turn of each set of stairs are homages to some of Dublin’s best loved fictional characters, such as Mrs Brown, Podge and Rodge, and Ross O Carroll Kelly.


The middle floor brings you through the history of Dublin, starting from the early 20th Century. You see the time of the 1913 Lockout, the 1916 Rising, the War of Independence and the Civil War, and the walls are lined with photographs and newspaper cuttings from the era.

The coffee table here also has a jar of sweets. Yes I did take one. No I have no regrets.

A second room on the middle floor showcases the latter part of the last century, with photographs of U2 receiving the freedom of the city, of milk bottles commemorating Italia 90 (when Ireland basically won the World Cup) and a selection of Call Cards, which were a big thing when I was a young girl.

On the top floor is a room dedicated to U2 (I didn’t spend much time in there) and a set up of a printing press, which would give hours of simple pleasures spelling out your name on the sheet of paper provided. If only I were able to find the “A”.

In an adjoining room lies a memorial to Alfred “Alfie” Byrne, one of Dublin’s most notorious MPs, and later TDs, well known for his links with fascism. A section of this memorial was titled “Alfie for President”, which took me a full ten minutes to recover from after imagining my cat in charge.

IMG_0700

I mean, she’s pretty, but she’d be no good running the country.

Yes, the museum may be small, but there’s an entire trove of treasures lying within. It’s open each day from 9am to 5pm, and on Thursdays stays open until 8pm.

This is not a sponsored post. It is my honest and personal opinion of the experience. I received no form of remuneration for this review.

Leave a comment and make me smile

