And another little stigma

Who said we have to go to a film in twos or more? I love films, and I don’t find anything wrong with popping out to the cinema on a wet and grey evening like Tuesday was. Regardless of the fact attending your local cinema can eat into your college fees fund painstakingly built up over the summer.

I read a great piece by fellow Irish blogger Zoe recently, and it reminded me of something:

Damn. I haven’t been to the cinema in a WHILE.

I don’t go often, let’s just get that out on the table before we start. The last time I went to the big screen was to see Cinderella with one of my friends. The time before that? Boyhood, back in September of last year. I figured it was time to treat yoself. Or myself, as the case turned out.

Eddie Rockets wolfed down, I headed next door and sat in front of Inside Out. Alone.

Despite thinking I would, I didn’t get a rush of self consciousness when I walked into screen one. Mainly because it was empty. But even when people started slowly filing in and taking up the seats, I was sitting pretty, eating Haribo, happy out.

It all looked a little like this. Incredibly attractive.

When it all started, I could enjoy the film in peace (well, relative peace, as the couple behind me had a chat for a bit halfway through.) In the long run, isn’t that what watching a film is about? I love going to see a new release with my friends, and I actually did ask two of them if they had been free that night. But we don’t ring up our pals every time we’re firing up a DVD, so is it really necessary we have to drag someone to the cinema with us each time as well?

It was great. Ok yeah it was quiet, but quiet is good sometimes. There was no one interrupting to ask what they’d missed, therefore making ME miss the film. When I started ugly crying at the end (I’m not going to spoil anything, but if you’ve seen the film you’ll know why) there was no pointing and laughing.

Strange and unbelievable as it may sound, I actually had a really enjoyable night. I strongly urge you to give it a go next time a film release catches your eye.

Leave a comment and make me smile

