Seeing all the sights: Dublin City Sightseeing Tours

Anywhere my family goes, we hop on a tour bus on our first or second day there and have a proper introduction to the place. We’ve done it in Belfast and in New York, and I really enjoyed both of those.

Though I’ve been in Dublin very often, and I’ve lived there for much of my adult life, I had never done the tour bus around Dublin. Yes, sure, I’ve seen them driving around every day, and I had probably been to the places it would point out more times than I could count. But there was clearly so much more to learn, and I wanted to see as much of Dublin as I could before I left the city.

I armed myself with my friend Margaret, and after throwing around a lot of dates and deciding between the companies offering tours, we eventually found one that suited us both. We set off in the early afternoon in mid June, and it was an absolutely beautiful day- sunshine, a light breeze, and just the right kick of heat. The perfect afternoon to travel around the city we’d been living in for so long.

We thought we were in Spain at one stage.

The tickets for the red City Sightseeing Tour bus, the company we decided to go with, set us back only €17 for a 24 hour ticket. With this ticket option, not only do you get access to the tour bus, but you can also avail of loads of concessions across Dublin city for the validity of the ticket. There’s also a two day ticket, but as both of us were working the day after our tour we opted for just the 24 hour.

The old reliables like the GPO and Kilmainham Gaol feature, but the bus also brings you toward The Shelbourne Hotel and the Goverment Buildings, giving a look at every aspect of Dublin.

Tours run quite regularly, leaving from the premises on Upper O Connell Street every ten minutes before 2pm, and every 15 minutes after then until 5pm, with a 90 minute trip across Dublin awaiting. The tour offers commentary in eight languages, and our tour featured an audio commentary rather than a live tour guide. I felt like this took away from my enjoyment of the tour a little, as the CD was sometimes out of synch with what was actually surrounding me- to my left, I didn’t see a tower from a hospital, I saw a Spar shop.

This is not a sponsored post. It is my honest and personal opinion of the experience. I received no form of remuneration for this review.

Leave a comment and make me smile

