The Reading Tag

In my vast online presence, I’ve made no secret to my life long struggle with bibliophilia. When I saw this tag on Joyful Antidotes, I just had to put my own spin on it.

More books, says you. Stay quiet, says I. Cheek.

200_s (1)

Do you have a certain place for reading at home?
Not in the slightest. I will more than happily plonk (I love that word) myself down anywhere with a book in hand. Couch. Bed. Toilet. Anywhere.
Bookmark or random piece of paper
I’ve always used bookmarks. A lot of the book shops I frequent, such as Hodges and Figgis, give free bookmarks when you buy a book, and that’s what I’m using at the moment. I had a lovely magnetic one with a quote from James Joyce, but that has been misplaced. Heartbreaking stuff. Also, we never, EVER, bend down the page. Cardinal sin.
 Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or a certain number of pages?
Usually I can just stop, especially if it’s late and I’m getting tired. But if a story is getting really, really exciting, I push on to the end of a chapter. I’m finding that happening a lot more recently.
Think this is Matilda? Wrong. That's my home video.

Think this is Matilda? Wrong. That’s my home video.

Do you eat or drink when reading?
I like to. Curled up on the couch with tea, biscuit and a good book? You can’t tell me that doesn’t sound like heaven on earth.

One book at a time or several at once?

Just one at a time. Reading more than one can lead to confusion, as the lines blur between the books. What do you mean Katniss Everdeen’s boyfriend has cancer?!

Reading at home or everywhere? 

Everywhere. And I mean everywhere. On the bus to work. On the bus back from work. While on my break at work. Sometimes at work, if I think I can sneak it. In bed. On the couch. In restaurants while waiting for my dinner guests to arrive. On the train back to my parent’s house. There is never a time there isn’t a book in my handbag.

1ea8c64aef648c2961d593aa22b6ab2c

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

In my head. I read in public a lot, and they might get a little freaked out by the young woman attempting to start a story time hour in the corner.

Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?

I try not to, but sometimes when I skip to the last page to see how long the book is, something catches my eye that could potentially ruin the story for me.

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

Every single one of my books is kept as new. I can’t stand nooks with a broken back, and the idea of it is enough to draw a tear. The weird contortions I make to keep it new while reading the book are highly entertaining, I’ve been told. Friends of mine are afraid to borrow my books in case they break the spine and incur my wrath.

Do you ever write in books?

No. No harm shall ever come to one of my books, be it from a pen, a broken spine, or a dog corner.

What are you currently reading?

The Summer of Secrets  by Alison Lucy. I’ve read a lot of hard going books in the past few weeks, going straight from The Girl on the Train to Only Ever Yours, and I felt like I needed something a little lighter to calm me down. My god I misjudged this book.

In the spirit of tagging, I’d like to invite my fellow bookworms Jenny, Sharon, Roisin and Roisin (all of whom are constantly seen on my Goodreads updates page making me feel insecure about my reading habits) to open their bookish ways to the world.

Leave a comment and make me smile

