SATC2 is everything that is wrong with the world

In my New Year hangover state, the only available option was to watch crap TV and wallow in self pity. This year, RTE offered up Sex and the City 2.

Now, I was a big fan of SATC when I was growing up. I didn’t catch it when the series first came out, mostly because I was six and my bed time was half eight. I liked the first film, and when I heard reports that the second film wasn’t up to par I decided to avoid it for as long as possible.

I wish I was still avoiding it.

BURN IN HELL

Miranda’s enthusiasm at quitting her job

Jesus woman, we’re in a recession. Never quit your job on a whim, these days job security is everything.

Carrie getting pissed off with Big for buying a flat screen TV for their anniversary

Yes, she’s more of a jewellery woman (as she so bluntly reminded him), but his reason for buying the telly was quite sweet. Also, flat screens are expensive. If someone wanted to buy me one, I wouldn’t be too disappointed.

The karaoke scene

Cats dying. Cats dying everywhere.

Big not wanting to go to the premiere

After a long day at the office, all I usually want to do is sit in my bed, watch TV (on my laptop, by the way, not on a flat screen TV) and eat Chinese food/pizza/something I didn’t cook. Definitely Team Big here.

The Oirish nanny

No one from Ireland has talked like that since. . . well, ever.

Samantha on the beach

It’s pretty much common knowledge that even showing skin in the Middle East is severely frowned upon. Really, what was she expecting to happen when she shifted yer man on the beach? Don’t even get me started on the public hip thrusting in the streets fiasco.

5 thoughts on “SATC2 is everything that is wrong with the world

  1. Saw this in the cinema at the time and it has to be one of the worst films I’ve ever seen. I’ve managed to block out most of it but I do remember something about solving the middle east’s problems with Louboutins?

    Awful, awful stuff! Oh and Stanford getting hitched to Anthony even though they hated each other in the show?!!!

    It’s all coming back to me now Aoife, damn you!

  2. I’ve never seen it and I don’t plan to but the above comment made me seethe – Stanford and Anthony???!!!! Did they just grab the two most obvious gay characters and think “that’ll do” – they were arch enemies for a decade ffs!!!!!

Leave a comment and make me smile

