Thing #3

Number three: Describe your relationship with your parents

(To know why, and to see past posts, click here.)

I owe my life to my parents. And not just in that way. I don’t think I’d be the person I am if it weren’t for them.

Myself and themselves. And my brother.

Myself and themselves. And my brother.

My Mam and I are two strange individuals, we’re almost polar opposites but at the same time, we’re very similar. We’re both very stubborn, and if an idea comes to each of us it’s difficult to sway us otherwise. That said, there are, as with every mother/daughter pair, there are moments where we’d like to kill each other. My mother is still the first person I go to if I have a problem, no matter how small. I trust her opinion above a lot of other people’s.

I admit that I’m closer to my Dad than I am my Mam. It’s not that I favour one over the other, but I am a lot more like Dad than I am my Mam. My Dad and I have a similar sense of humour, but we also have the same temper. We both have a tendency to get mad over the small things, and very mad at that. When both of us are angry at the same time, it’s best to keep a safe distance.

I wouldn’t trade my parents, or the upbringing they gave me, for anything. Though it was tough at times, especially during times when I had to study for exams (you try having two parents in the education system) they made me the person I am today.

Leave a comment and make me smile

