Very Inspiring Blogger Award

There exists a thing called a blogger award. I’ve been at this blogging malarkey for several months now, and I have just received a nomination for ‘Inspiring Blogger Award’ from Roisin at Random Descent. YAY 🙂

very-inspiring-blogger

The way the award works is that you thank the person who nominated you, put the photo above on your blog, then give seven fats about yourself and nominate seven fellow bloggers for the award.

Well the photo is there, and here’s my big thanks to Roisin. Roisin and I work together on The Daily Shift, a student media site, as category editors.

So, without further ado, here is my acceptance speech.

Seven facts

1. I like to eat. A lot. In fact, as I type this I am sitting on my couch eating Chinese food. It’s pretty much the only thing I’ve eaten all day.

2. I’ve had my belly button pierced three times. So far, third time’s a charm.

3. I cannot drive to save my life. I’ve driven into fences a lot. I can’t change down gears. I’m pretty much a disaster, and my mother is afraid of getting into a car with me.

4. My main goal in my life is to spend NYE in Sydney before I die. I’ve been to Australia before, and I’d love to go back there.

5. I wanted my brother to be born a girl. I asked my parents for a sister for Christmas (and he was born the following September, which still creeps me out no end) and when my Dad rang to tell me I had a little brother, I cried. But, as a consolation, I picked his middle name (I wanted to call him Séan, but there was already a Séan in my family.)

6. The only things that aren’t small about me are my boobs and my voice.

7. I knew when I was eight years old that I wanted to be a journalist, or work in the media in some form. I had always been adamant on radio. Now, however, I cannot decide whether I want to work in print or broadcast media. I blame college, and actively taking part in the two forms of student media there.

And now, nominate 10 blogs

1. Aztec Designs. I went to school with her. And now I want free reign of her wardrobe.

2. To My Write. I met this girl through my ex, and we got to share her in the divorce. Her post about how to hold a 21st  will become my personal bible in June.

3. BRB; In Narnia. Almost as funny on paper (if you can call it that) as she is off.

4.Very Lovely Stuff. This blog always has reviews of make up that always looks really nice, but I could never afford even if I tried.

5. Attenti al Lupo. I don’t know what it means either. But Italian is a sexy language, and there’s a translate button at the top. Happy days.

6. Girl On The Contrary. One of the funniest sites I’ve seen on the net. She always has a post on Fridays that make me smile.

7. I Love Photoblogging. I love Galway, and this blog has pictures of it everywhere. Success.

8. Order In This Chaos Much like Nicola, Roisin is also a funny bird on and off screen. (The post about driving could probably help me, too.)

9.  Vicki Notaro The main reason I decided to be a features writer. Vicki was my inspiration from the moment I picked up KISS magazine as a young wan, and her piece on freelancing doesn’t make it sound that bad.

10.  The Daily Shift My new baby. This is the aforementioned student site, and I was recently appointed news sub editor (no biggie.) While I edit the news section, I also write some features for them.

One thought on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Thanks for the kind words! However I just want to point out before you take a massive leap of faith with my virtual encouragement, I was already pretty established in the industry and had lots of contacts! It’s not what you’d call an easy pursuit at all, I was just lucky and tenacious and made use of all the opportunities that came my way.

    But all that said; go for it! And best of luck. All editors want are clear concise ideas and the ability to follow up on them and produce them reliably. Do that and it’s a piece of cake.

Leave a comment and make me smile

