Flying Solo

Remember last week I had a job interview and then gave my tips on it? Turns out, they loved me and gave me my own two hour slot on air. SCARY OR WHA?

The main reason it was so scary is because I have never been in a radio studio on my own before. Any show or on air interview I’ve ever done has been with someone else there to either ask me or be asked. I’m used to having my radio babies (or my team, however they want to view themselves) join me on a weekly basis and pick up on things I say, or vice versa.

Today, though, I was on my own. Cue singing the song from Les Mis, regardless of an audience being there or not. (Aside: I watched Les Mis on Friday night with some friends. I didn’t cry, and am now convinced that I’m heartless.)

As soon as the show was pitched, I had to come up with an idea. Now, I’m pretty good at ideas, such as features for the college paper. Unfortunately, this time my creative nature decided to go on holliers and forget to bring me, which was really sound. I had nothing.

When I got to the office, it turned out I had nothing to worry about. As I already knew, the system was the same as the college radio station desk, and I was well used it. There was already music set up, all I had to do was introduce them. Class.

One o clock came, and it was go time. When I put the link up on my Twitter page, some of my friends in my class messaged me. Saying they couldn’t get the link to work. Joyful.

Eventually, things were ironed out and most people got back to me saying I was doing well (I won’t give my own opinion, for the reason of being my own worst critic and not wanting to blow my own horn)

The experience taught me a lot about myself. Firstly, that I can actually do things for myself when the situation calls for it. It also taught me that it is very easy to take a mic out of its stand. But, most importantly, it made me realise that a career in radio, no matter how many written articles I do, is still what I want to do for the rest of my life.

Oh, and I played this. I’m not gonna put up a full playlist of the songs, but I couldn’t let this one pass.

Leave a comment and make me smile

