Disney Ditties

Since I came home from college, all I’ve done (apart from eat absolutely everything edible in the house) is watch the entire back catalogue of Disney films (I do this roughly once every three or four months.) Watching back made me reminisce over the songs that appeared in them. Songs that were much better than any song released these days. (Apart from Katy. Obvs)

A Whole New World from Aladdin

Aladdin’s attempt to chat up Princess Jasmine involved them taking a trip over Agrabah on a flying carpet, and seeing the ‘unbelievable sights’. It tells of the world Aladdin and Jasmine will discover when they’re together. ‘A Whole New World’ won the Best Song Oscar at the 65th Academy Awards.  Jasmine’s singing voice was provided  by Lea Salonga, who voiced Mulan in 1998.

When You Wish Upon A Star from Pinocchio

The quintessential Disney song, ‘When You Wish Upon A Star’ is used now in part of Disney’s intro music (the bit you see before the film starts) and has been since 2008. It is also quoted in several Disney related items and has become the theme song of the Walt Disney Company. Yes, the entire company.

Be Our Guest from Beauty and the Beast

There are so many songs to pick from this film that it was hard to narrow it down. However, dancing cutlery, a salty snowfall, singing candlesticks and Lumiére’s smooth talking will win every time.

Circle of Life from The Lion King

For almost a year, this song was my alarm. Usually, when a song is my alarm I grow to hate it. That never happened with the ‘Circle of Life.’ And yes, I have held the cat above my head as if he were Simba. The poor fella hadn’t a clue what was going on. Plus, imagine having James Earl Jones as your Dad. . .

Part of Your World from The Little Mermaid

A ‘grass is always greener’ song. Strangely, she wants to be a human, and I wouldn’t mind giving being a mermaid a go. I figure we should swap. But Ariel, if you think parents up here don’t reprimand their daughters, I’ve got news for you.  . .

Leave a comment and make me smile

