The Best Way To Spread Christmas Cheer Is Singing Loud For All To Hear

Buddy the Elf has nothing on me.

I’ve been spreading the Christmas cheer for several weeks now. I put my Christmas playlist on my iPod since the middle of November, and even though it’s about fifty songs long, I dip in and out of it regularly. The following is my ultimate Christmas Party Playlist. Caution: LOADED with cheese.

Elton John – Step Into Christmas

Elton rocking a serious pair of shades and the most stylish jacket this side of 1950. This song heralds the start of Christmas for me (with an opening line that reads “Welcome to my Christmas song.” and a “Step into Christmas” in the chorus, how could it not!)

Wham! – Last Christmas

One of the cheesiest, yet best, Christmas songs of all time. Poor George Michael discovers the hard way that women are fickle creatures and will play with your heart before viciously casting it to the side.

And I should know. I am a woman.

Band Aid – Do They Know It’s Christmas

This song, as soon as you hear the bell toll, reminds us about our greed at this time of year, and the plight those less fortunate than us suffer through each day. Famine doesn’t take a Christmas holiday, like school does.

Just don’t mention the 2004 version to me. That was dire.

The Pogues & Kirsty McColl – Fairytale of New York

This is most people’s favourite Christmas song (probabluy because of the abundance of profanities in it.) it isn’t mine. Not for that reason, but because I happen to think it’s a little over hyped and a LOT over played.

Also, the NYPD doesn’t have a choir. And if they did, I can’t see why their song of choice would be Galway Bay. Something more suitable, like New York, New York maybe?

Shakin’ Stevens – Merry Christmas Everyone

Admittedly, I always get this and Slade  mixed up (the titles have one word of a difference, it’s an easy mistake) but I prefer Shaky’s one a lot more. The image of snow is a little more appealing to the eye than Santa shifting my mother.

Mariah Carey –  All I Want For Christmas Is You

As much as I hate Mariah (she’d never survive a day out my neck of the woods) I can’t deny my love for this song.

She probably froze in the dress though.

Leave a comment and make me smile

