It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

Today is Friday, November 9th 2012 (this sounds like the opening of that ‘Our Class News’ weekly exercise we did in first class where people who had just bought a new goldfish were congratulated on their purchases.) It is roughly seven weeks to C-Day. And the overkill already is slowly driving me to alcoholism.

It’s ridiculous. No sooner was Halloween over, and I saw my first Christmas ad. Luckily, it wasn’t the one that signals the start of Christmas (this one) It was a crappy Vodafone one with reindeer that, quite frankly, scared the living bejaysus out of me.

I thought when I came home from college for the weekend, I’d be safe. While the TV is always on, I could put on something that’s been on the recorder since June and the bombardment would end. I was not so lucky.

Look what greeted me when I looked around the coffee table for the TV guide.

Image

No it’s not. It’s November.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I love Christmas as much as the next person. Christmas is one of my favourite times of the year. But this year, the early onset of Christmas cheer has angered me more than it has at any other time. And this magazine isn’t the worst of it. There are several instances of Christmas coming maybe a little too before its time:

Selection boxes: They’re everywhere. And they’ve been here since August. Tesco has them for about two Euro. Which, as one of my college friends said, is only good for one thing; your entire weekly chocolate supply can be bought together cheaply, rather than spending around five or six Euro on them. I know myself too well, though. I know that if I were to buy a selection box now, I’d be sick of the sight of them by the time I actually wanted one.

Decorations: Brown Thomas is the devil when it comes to Christmas decorations. Strolling around the Cork branch in August, a piece of glitter caught my eye. At first, I thought it was shoes. It wasn’t shoes. It was a giant stand of decorations for a Christmas tree. IN AUGUST! I even took a picture of it to prove to my Mam. Who then bought one of them “because it looks nice.” It’ll still look as nice in the later part of the year.

So, people. I beg of you. Christmas is December 25th. Let’s keep it there.

(And, to prove I’m not a Grinch, when I see THAT ad, I will be making Christmas posts galore. Watch it.)

Leave a comment and make me smile

