‘MAM! What’s For Dinner? Oh, That’s Right, She Doesn’t Live Here. . .’

When I moved out to go to college last September, the first thing I realised was that I had to cook food. For myself. That was always going to end in tears.

I can make basic stuff. Like toast. Anyone who comes to my house is offered a cup of tea (as is the custom greeting in Ireland) and a slice of toast, jam/marmalade optional. I can also open a tin of baked beans, empty the contents into a saucepan, and heat. There we go, beans on toast.

Which gets REALLY boring when you’ve eaten it six days running. For breakfast, lunch, dinner and it’s-2am-and-I-am-fúcking-starving.

Desperate measures had to be taken. I needed to learn to cook for myself and lean less on the likes of Dominos, Eddie Rocket’s and Chinese food.

My mother taught me how to make lasagne, my favourite food of all time. I now had the skill to feed myself on something else, and this would also last a week. Gordon Ramsey was quaking in his boots.

It took a while for the phone calls to my mother stopped. I asked her every food question under the sun. ‘How do you know when spuds are done?’ ‘What kind of milk do we use?’ ‘Can you freeze a lasagne?’ I’m still surprised she didn’t block my number.

After a couple of weeks on my own, my culinary repertoire consisted of the above mentioned meals, risotto (which I can do pretty well, I must admit), and various dishes involving chicken. I was still hungry for more however.

Then, recommended by a friend who knew how much I had tormented my poor mother, came this website. 

The stuff on this is actually edible, and will cover both picky eaters (me) and ‘I’ll try anything’-ers. I haven’t tested any of them yet, but when I do, you guys will be the first to know.

So long, beans on toast, we’re eating like kings tonight!

Leave a comment and make me smile

